Skip to the content
Habush Reading Room

Copyright

I. Introduction

This is a guide to UW Madison libraries and online sources for research on copyright. Print and electronic resources are integrated and categorized according to topic. All call numbers included refer to locations in the Law Library unless otherwise noted.


II. Copyright Basics

This section includes handbooks, guides, and other resources that highlight the basics of copyright law.

Copyright: An Overview and Menu of Sources
A brief overview of copyright law from the Legal Information Institute (Cornell). Includes links to legislative, judicial, administrative and other resources on copyright law.

The Copyright Book: A Practical Guide (MIT Press) 5th ed. -- KF 2994.S75 1999

The Copyright Guide: A Friendly Handbook for Protecting and Profiting From Copyrights (Allworth) -- Memorial Library Reference KF 2995 W48 1996


The Copyright Handbook : How to Protect and Use Written Works. 6th ed. (Nolo) -- College Library: KF 2995 F53 2002

Note: Law Library has the 3rd ed. at KF 2995 F53 1996

Copyright in Cyberspace 2 : Questions and Answers for Librarians. (Neal-Schuman Publishers) -- KF3030.1 Z9 H64 2005

Copyright Law (West Legal Studies) - KF 2995 S75 2000

Copyright Office Forms (U.S. Copyright Office) -- US Documents LC 3.14:
Also available online from the US Copyright Office.

Copyright Office Circulars (US Copyright Office) -- US Documents LC 3.4/2:
Also available online from the US Copyright Office. See especially:

CIRCULAR R1: Copyright Basics --LC 3.4/2: 1/2002

CIRCULAR R2: Publications on Copyright -- LC 3.4/2: 2/2000
CIRCULAR R21: Reproduction of Copyrighted Works by Educators and Librarians --
LC 3.4/2: 21/1995
The web version was revised in June 1998.
CIRCULAR R22: How to Investigate the Copyright Status of a Work -- LC 3.4/2: 22/2004

Copyright Plain & Simple (Career Press) -- College Library KF 2995 B47 1997

Copyright Search (US Copyright Office)
Search for owners of copyrighted works, including periodicals, books, music, art and more.

Crash Course in Copyright (University of Texas System. Office of General Counsel)
Major themes are fair use and copyright in the digital environment. The focus is on higher education. See the "Crash Course Tutorial" on fair use, ownership and permission.

Dealing With Copyrights (Oceana Publications) -- K1420.6 W56 2000

Electronic Reserve : A Manual and Guide for Library Staff Members. Binghamton , NY (Haworth Information Press, 2003-) -- School of Library/Info Studies. General Collection 025.174 D833e

Every Writer's Guide to Copyright and Publishing Law. 3rd ed. (Holt) -- KF 3020 Z9 K69 2004

FA©E (Friends of Active ©opyright Education)
An initiative of the Copyright Society of the U.S.A. Click on one of the six colored buttons for answers to copyright questions in a variety of contexts and links to related sites. Site is divided into sections according to the type of work involved (e.g. books, motion pictures).

Frequently asked Questions (U.S. Copyright Office) -- U.S. Documents LC 3.2: Q 3/3

Frequently Asked Questions About Copyright

Designed by CENDI, the Federal STI (Scientific and Technical Information)Managers grouo, for federal STI agencies. Last updated in August 2004.

General Information About Copyrights
The law firm, Oppedahl and Larson presents a copyright FAQ list.

The Law of Copyright (Oceana) -- KF 2995 F69 2000

The Librarian's Copyright Companion (Hein) -- KF 2995 H45 2004

The Librarian's Guide to Intellectual Property in the Digital age : Copyrights, Patents, and Trademarks (American Library Association) -- Memorial Library Z 688 P36 W33 2002 ;

School of Library/Info Studies. General Collection 655.673 W574L


What is a copyright? 2nd ed. (American Bar Association, Section of Intellectual Property Law) - KF 2995 A53 2001

When Works Pass into the Public Domain
Chart from the University of North Carolina's Task Force on Intellectual Property detailing the inception and duration of a work's copyright protection.


III. Treatises

See International, Comparative and Foreign Copyright for treatises on these topics.

A. General

Boorsytn on Copyright. 2nd ed. (Clark Boardman Callaghan) 2v. - KF 2994 B66 1994
With current supplements.

Copyright : Current Issues and Laws (Nova Science Publishers) - KF 2994 C57 2002

Copyright in a Global Information Society : The scope of Copyright Protection Under International, US, UK, and French law (Kluwer Law International) -K1447.3 M35 2000

Copyright Law and Practice (Bureau of National Affairs) 3v. -- KF 2994 P35 1994
With current supplements.

Copyright Law in Business and Practice (West Group) 2v. -- KF 2994 H35 2002

With current supplements.

Copyright Law: Protection of Original Expression (Carolina Academic Press) -- KF 2993 H354 2002

Copyright : Principles, Law and Practice (Little, Brown) 4v.-- KF 2979.G63 1996
With current supplements.

Free Culture: How Big Media Uses Technology and the Law to Lock Down Culture and Control Creativity (Penguin Press, 2004) -- KF2979 L47 2004; http://www.free-culture.cc/freeculture.pdf

Goldstein on Copyright. 3rd ed. (Aspen Publishers) 4v. -- KF 2979 G63 2005

Intellectual Property : The Law of Copyrights, Patents, and Trademarks (Thomson/West) -- KF2980 S34 2003

Nimmer on Copyright : A Treatise on the Law of Literary, Musical and Artistic Property, and the Protection of Ideas (Matthew Bender) 10 v. - Reserve Collection KF 2991.5 N5 1978
With current supplements.

Scott on Computer Law. 2nd ed. (Prentice Hall Law & Business) 2v. -- KF 390.5 C6 S38

B. Specialized

American Literature and the Culture of Reprinting (University of Pennsylvania Press) -- PS 208 M38 2003

Copyright : Sacred text, Technology, and the DMCA ( Kluwer Law International) -- KF 3030.1 N56 2003

Free Culture : How Big Media Uses Technology and the Law to Lock Down Culture and Control Creativity. (Penguin Press) -- KF 2979 L47 2004; College Library KF 2979 L47 2004

How to Avoid Reel Legal Problems : A Film Making & Multimedia Legal Guide. (Thomson/West) -- KF 4298 S26 2004

The Legal Protection of Databases. (Cambridge University Press) -- KD1303 C65 D388 2003

Licensing of Intellectual Property and Other Information Assets (LexisNexis Matthew Bender) -- KF 2979 N55 2004

Promises to Keep : Technology, Law, and the Future of Entertainment (Stanford Law and Politics) 2004 -- KF 3035 F57 2004; College Library KF 3035 F57 2004


IV. Copyright Legislation and Regulation

For foreign and international copyright law, see International and Foreign Copyright.

Important Legislation

Copyright Act of 1976 and amendments
Title 17, United States Code -- 5th Floor, East Wing, Section 27-29. Check Tables volumes of the United States Code to search for copyright legislation that may not be codified in Title 17.

Digital Millennium Copyright Act (DMCA)
P.L. 105-304, 112 Stat. 2860 (1998)

Regulations

Title 37, Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) -- 5th Floor, East Wing, Section 30

Online links

Copyright law of the United States of America -- Selected Provisions of the US Code Relating to Copyright
From the US Copyright Office. Lists sections from parts of the US Code besides Title 17 which pertain to copyright.

United States Code, Title 17 (GPO Access)


V. Copyright Cases

Copyright Law Decisions (Commerce Clearing House) -- Ref KF 2990 A2 C67

Copyright Law Reporter (Commerce Clearing House) -- Ref KF 2991.5 C67
Monthly publication reporting trial and appellate cases involving copyright cumulating in the bound Copyright Law Decisions, supra.

Decisions of the United States Courts Involving Copyright (US Copyright Office) -- US Gov. Documents LC 3.3/3:
Covers years 1909-1985; cumulative index for 1909-1970.

United States Patents Quarterly (Associated Industry Publications) -- Ref KF 2975 A2 U552 Weekly publication reporting the full text of cases on patents, trademarks, copyright and related areas.


VI. Intellectual Property Periodicals

Indexes

The following indexes cover copyright periodicals and publications:

Current Index to Legal Periodicals (University of Washington Law Library) Current issues - Law Library Web site; WESTLAW: CILP
This weekly publication is an update to Index to Legal Periodicals and Books, infra.

Current Law Index (Information Access Company) [1980 - ] - Ref. Periodical Index Tables

Index to Legal Periodicals and Books Full Text and Retrospective (H.W. Wilson) [1908 - ] Ref. Periodical Index Tables; Law Library Web site [1918- ] ; also LEXIS: LAWREV; ILP and WESTLAW: ILP

Legal Resource Index (Information Access Company) - LEXIS: LAWREV; LGLIND

To find periodicals in the University of Wisconsin Law Library covering intellectual property, use the guided keyword search in MadCat, and search for the Subject "Intellectual Property United States Periodicals", making sure to select "all of these" instead of "as a phrase."

VII. Education and Fair Use

This section of the guide is devoted to copyright issues as it applies to educators and librarians."Fair Use," the case law-based doctrine added as Section 107 of the Copyright Act of 1976, is a focal point of interest and concern for those in education at all levels. This doctrine holds that the production and dissemination of works in the context of teaching, research and scholarship is not an infringement of copyright.

The materials below are designed to serve as practical guides to "fair use" and its implications for those in an educational environment.

Checklist for Conducting a Fair Use Analysis
From Cornell University. A guide to applying the balancing test for determining whether one may make or distribute copies of works protected by copyright without having to obtain the permission of the copyright holder.

Copyright and Fair Use
Guide to copyright-related web pages from Stanford University Libraries.

Copyright for schools : A Practical Guide ( Linworth Pub., Inc.) -- CIMC Professional Stacks KF 3020.Z9 S57 2005

Copyright and the NII [National Information Infrastructure]: Resources for the Library and Education Community (Association of Research Libraries) -- School of Library and Information Studies Library, General Collection 655.673 C794

Copyright for Teachers and Librarians (Neal-Schuman Publishers) -- CIMC Professional Stacks KF 2995 B88 2004

Copyright Law for Librarians and Educators : Creative Strategies and Practical Solutions (American Library Association) -- CIMC Reference Stacks KF 2995 C74 2006; Memorial Library Reference KF 2995 C74 2006; School of Library and Information Studies 655.673 C867ce2

Copyright Law on Campus (Washington State University Press) -- KF 3030.1 L56 2003

Crash Course in Copyright
From the University of Texas, Office of General Counsel. Major themes are fair use and copyright in the digital environment. See the "Copyright Online Tutorial" on fair use, ownership and permission.

Digital Millennium Copyright Act Guide
The American Library Association offers a brief summary of the Digital Millennium Copyright Act's provisions.

Fair Use Issues
Guide to fair use issues, from the Copyright Management Center, Indian University-Purdue University.

Fair Use Network
A program of the Brennan Center for Justice at the NYU School of Law. Providing information designed to support fairuse, including a Resources section. This section contains contains a reference guide, including guides on copyright, fair use, an annotated compilation of federal statutes and regulations, and other reference materials and indexes.

In Answer to Your Query: Fair Use (U.S. Copyright Office) -- LC 3.4/2: FL-102; http://www.copyright.gov/fls/fl102.pdf


Questions & Answers on Copyright for the Campus Community
(Association of American Publishers) -- KF 2995 Q47 2002; http://www.nacs.org/public/copyright/


VIII. International and Foreign Copyright

Treatises and Other Texts

Copyright and the GATT : An Interpretation and Legislative History of the Uruguay Round Agreements Act : 1995 supplement to Copyright Law and Practice (Bureau of National Affairs) - KF 2994 P345 1995

Copyright in a Global Information Society: The Scope of Copyright Protection under International, US, UK, and French Law (Kluwer Law International) - K 1447.3 M35 2000

Intellectual Property Law of Canada (Juris Publishing) 1999 - KE 2777.5 S75
With current supplements.

International Copyright: Principles, Law and Practice (Oxford University Press) - K 1420.5 G65 2002

Whale on Copyright (Sweet & Maxwell) - KD 1289 W5 1997
An introduction to the law of copyright in the U.K.

World Copyright Law : Protection of Authors’ Works, Performances, Phonograms, Films, Video, Broadcasts, and Published Editions in National, International, and Regional law (Sweet & Maxwell) -- K 1420.5 S737 2003

Foreign National Copyright Offices

Australian Copyright Council
See the list of Information Sheets which summarize Australian copyright law.

Canadian Intellectual Property Office-Copyright
Links to Canadian copyright legislation and reference sources.

UK Patent Office-Copyright
Overview of British copyright law, links to principal British copyright legislation, information on EU copyright law, news, and FAQs.

International Organizations

IFRRO (International Federation of Reproduction Rights Organisations)
Copyright Legislation section contains links to laws of selected European nations.

International Federation of Library Associations (IFLA) -- Information Policy: Copyright and Intellectual Property
Directory of links to papers and periodicals discussing copyright; organizations and copyright collections; examples of copyright policies; copyright treaties and conventions; and copyright organizations in the Americas, Asia and the Pacific, and Europe.

United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)

Site includes UNESCO publication, including the Copyright Bulletin (in six languages), the Collection of National Copright Laws, various studies of copyright issues. and more.

World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)
WIPO is the United Nations organization that administers treaties involving intellectual property protection. Site contains information about the organization, an overview of international copyright, and a searchable database of foreign and international intellectual property laws, the Collection of Laws for Electronic Access.

Treaties, Conventions and Laws

Selected Treaties and Conventions

Berne Convention for the Protection of Literary and Artistic Works
Paris Act of July 24, 1971, as amended on September 28, 1979.

Universal Copyright Convention (aka Paris Convention)
Adopted in Geneva in 1952, revised in Paris in 1971.

WIPO Copyright Treaty
Full text of the treaty, with links to agreed-upon statements by the Conference that produced the treaty.

Compilations

Collection of Laws for Electronic Access (CLEA)

Database contaiing national laws relating to intellectual property, all WIPO treaties, and bibliographic data on laws and treaties.

Collection of National Copyright Laws

From UNESCO.

Copyright and Neighboring Rights Laws and Treaties (WIPO) 6 v. -- Ref K 1418 1987
Latest update is No.12 (Dec. 2001)

Copyright Laws and Treaties of the World (UNESCO) -- K 1420.5 U55
Latest update is No.28 (1996/1998).

Industrial Property and Copyright : Monthly Review of the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) -- Law Library Periodicals, 3rd floor (shelved by title)
Compilation of laws and treaties.

Intellectual property Laws and Treaties : Monthly Publication of the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) -- Law Library Periodicals, 3rd floor (shelved by title)
Compilation of laws and treaties.

Directories of Links

See section IX., supra.


IX. Directories of Links

For directories of links related to international copyright, see International and Foreign Copyright.

Copyright: An Overview and Menu of Sources
A brief overview of copyright law from the Legal Information Institute. Includes links to legislative, judicial, and other resources on copyright law.

Copyright and Fair Use

From Stanford University Libraries. A collection of copyright law materials and links to primary source materials, inlcuding legislation and case law.

Copyright Internet Resources
Site from the US Copyright Office provides links to web sites of other copyright-related organizations, both foreign and domestic.

Copyright Resources

From the Association of Research Libraries. Links to copyright legislation, decisions, international activities, and more.

European Copyright User Platform (E©UP)
Links to European copyright legislation and international conventions and treaties, and links to selected international copyright offices.

Intellectual Property Law

Directory of resources from the Wisconsin State Law Library.

Intellectual Property Rights Helpdesk

From the European Community's Research and Development Information Service. Offers extensive information on IP law and pratice in Europe, including sections focusing on copyright and a collection of practice guides and working papers.

Legal Research Guide: Intellectual Property Law
From Virtual Chase. Site provides access to lists of web links to US and foreign intellectual property organizations, publication and statistical databases, and other IP-related web sites.

Researching Intellectual Property Law in an International Context
From Law Library Resource Xchange (LLRX). Overviews of major international agreements and intellectual property laws; links to foreign national and governmental organizations; and lists of foreign IP legislation.


X. Online Fee-Based Databases


LexisNexis has a copyright library (COPYRT) containing federal cases and legislation, intellectual property journals, legislative history material, and other secondary sources.

Westlaw contains several databases relating to intellectual property, which cover IP case law, statutes and legislative history, administrative law, public records and filings, directories, and legal texts and periodicals.

Compiled by Sunil Rao
Univerisity of Wisconsin - Madison Law Library
Revised: December 2006