Library Research Guides
Browse By:
Subjects
Bankruptcy
Business Organizations & Corporations
Children & Family Law
Civil Procedure
Contracts
Criminal Law & Procedure
Education Law
Environmental Law
Estate Planning
Foreign, International & Comparative Law
General
Health & Medicine
Human Rights
Immigration Law
Intellectual Property
Judicial Systems, Courts & Judges
Jurisprudence & Legal History
Labor & Employment
Lawyering & the Practice of Law
Legal Research
Legislation
Native Peoples
Property
Taxation
Trial & Trial Practice
Women & Feminism
Writing & Publishing
Top 5 Resources:
1L Survival Guide
A guide for beginning law students about the UW Law School, skills, courses, faculty, textbooks, studying, exams, library access, and technology.
Bankruptcy/Debtor Creditor Proceedings
The Bankruptcy/Debtor Creditor Proceedings guide is designed to assist with locating bankruptcy law and debtor/creditor resources through the law library.
Canada Legal Research Guide
Guide to Canadian primary and secondary legal resources available at the UW Law Library and online.
Children and the Law
This research guide is designed to address the specific needs and interests of UW Law School students enrolled in L&CP: Children, Law & Society.
Chile: A Legal Research Guide
Guide to Chilean legal materials (primarily federal) online and at the UW-Law Library. Sources are mainly in Spanish; annotations are given in English where deemed necessary. Note the dates of publication for each text, as some may be outdated.
Citation Guide: Interpreting, Managing & Creating Bluebook Legal Cites
This guide contains tips on using the Bluebook for legal citation. It includes citation samples of commonly used resources, style and abbreviation guides, and info on using citation managers to organize your research and automatically create cites.
Civil Procedure
This is a guide on Civil Procedure and the rules used by courts for civil trials.
Copyright Law
This is a guide to UW Madison Libraries and online sources for research on copyright. Print and electronic resources are integrated and categorized according to topic.
Criminal Law and Procedure
This guide provides an overview of the UW Law Library's Criminal Law and Procedure holdings. It is designed to highlight key resources for 1Ls and Remington Center students.
Divorce and Child Custody/Support
A guide to laws, books, journals and online resources on divorce, child custody and child support.
Employment & Labor Law
This guide helps users navigate Federal and Wisconsin resources pertaining to employment and labor issues.
English Legal Materials
Guide to English primary and secondary legal resources available at the UW Law Library and online
Environmental Law
A guide to resources on Environmental Law and Practice.
ERISA
This guide highlights relevant print and online resources held at the UW Law Library pertaining to ERISA.
Estate Planning, Wills and Probate
This guide provides basic information on estate planning, the transfer of property at death. A will designates how that property is to be transferred to designated beneficiaries. Probate is the legal process that oversees the transfer of these assets.
European Union Law
A brief guide to selected UW-Madison Law Library and electronic resources for research in EU Law. The UW Memorial Library, an EU depository library, has its own more extensive research guide; see the "Research Guides" section below for more info.
Federal Congressional Procedure & Legislative History
A guide to researching the procedure of the United State Congress and the legislative history of federal laws.
Federal Tax Research Sources
This guide lists UW Law Library resources useful in substantive federal tax research.
Foreign and Comparative Law: A Legal Research Guide
Guide to UW-Madison Law Library and electronic resources for research in foreign, comparative and private international law/conflict of laws.
Foreign Commercial Law
This is a guide to UW-Madison Law Library and electronic resources in foreign commercial law. The emphasis is on primary and secondary materials for research in materials from Europe, South Asia and South East Asia.
GATT/WTO: A Research Guide
An guide to University of Wisconsin campus and electronic sources integral to legal research involving the World Trade Organization (WTO), and to a lesser extent, its predecessor, the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (GATT).
Germany Legal Research Guide
This is a guide to UW-Madison campus and e-resources for research in German law. Note that many sources here are in German, and in-depth research will require knowledge of German.
Getting Items from other Libraries: Interlibrary Loan and Universal Borrowing
If you need an item that is not owned by the UW-Madison, there are other options to explore. Universal Borrowing allows borrowing from other UW campuses, and Interlibrary Loan allows borrowing from other libraries. Make smarter requests with this guide!
Health Law
This guide provides resources on Health Care Law.
Historical Resources for U.S. and State Law
Sources of historical federal and state cases, legislation and regulations, as well as books, journals and newspapers.
Human Rights Law
Guide to Human Rights Law & its governing bodies.
Immigration Law
This guide provides resources, including handbooks, reports & treatises, journals, federal & electronic resources on immigration law.
India Legal Research Guide
Guide to Indian primary and secondary legal resources (primarily federal) available at the UW Law Library and online.
International Commercial Arbitration: A Research Guide
A guide to research resources in International Commercial Arbitration, prepared in connection with Professor Jason Yackee's International Commercial Arbitration course.
International Law: A Legal Research Guide to Public International Law
This is a guide to UW-Madison Law Library and electronic resources for research in Public International Law.
iPad Apps for Lawyers, Law Faculty and Law Students
iPad Applications for Lawyers, Law Faculty and Law Students.
Islamic Law
This is a brief guide to selected University of Wisconsin campus and electronic resources for research in Islamic law.
Judicial Statistics, Verdicts & Sentencing
Information on jury awards and verdicts, criminal sentencing, and court statistics.
Legal Aspects of Education
This guide serves as a reference to legal resources in the field of primary and secondary education. Many sources mentioned may be relevant to higher education research as well.
Legal Forms & Contracts
Sources for locating language for legal forms and contracts.
Library Guide for Cite-Checkers
This guide presents resources and strategies to assist students with citation checking, emphasizing sources that provide pdf images of documents wherever possible.
Library Guide for Law Journals
A guide for Law Journal editors, cite-checkers and staff, including print and online resources.
Lincoln Collection
This guide serves as a basic catalog to the Lincoln Collection available at the U.W. Law Library.
Low-Cost Legal Resources in Dane County
A list of legal assistance agencies and clinics in Dane County, WI. Organized by area of law.
Mental Health Law
A guide to resources on mental health law at the UW campus and online.
Mexico Legal Research Guide
Guide to Mexican legal materials (primarily federal) online and at the UW-Law Library. Sources are mainly in Spanish; annotations are given in English where deemed necessary. Note the dates of publication for each text, as some may be outdated.
National Library Week 2017
A listing of book recommendations from the UW Law School faculty and staff as we celebrate National Library Week, April 2017.
Native American Law & Legal Sources
An introduction to legal materials available at the UW Law Library on Native Americans and other native peoples of the US, such as Native Alaskans and Hawaiians. Includes treaties, statutes, executive orders, court decisions, and administrative actions.
Newspapers Guide
Sources of current and historical newspapers available in print, electronically, and on microform through the UW-Madison Libraries and beyond.
Patent Law
The Patent Law Guide provides resources on patent law, patent searching, and patent associations.
Peru: A Legal Research Guide
Guide to Peruvian legal materials (primarily federal) online and at the UW-Law Library. Sources are mainly in Spanish; annotations are given in English where deemed necessary. Note the dates of publication for each text, as some may be outdated.
Real Estate Transactions
This guide provides resources, treatises, forms, journals & Web resources on Real Estate Transactions.
Research Assistant Workshop
Research Assistant Workshop, October 13, 2017
Researching Legal Topics
Tips on legal research for seminar papers and law review articles for law students.
Secondary Legal Sources
This guide highlights a variety of secondary sources which are extremely useful in legal research. A go-to list with books organized by topic.
Securities Law
Guide for locating information regarding federal securities law.
South Asian Law Online
Guide to South Asian legal resources available online
Study Guides on Reserve, located at the circulation desk.
Comprehensive list of study guides and aids available on Circulation Reserve organized by subject. All the items are kept behind the circulation desk on the fifth floor of the law school library.
Technology Transfer & Commercialization of Intellectual Property
This guide is designed to provide resources on technology transfer, commercialization of intellectual property, and resources for law and enterprenuership at the University of Wisconsin.
U.S. Government Documents Guide
The UW Law Library is a federal depository library serving the university community and the general public. This is a selective list of major document titles or series currently received by the library.
United States Supreme Court Justices
The guide contains biographical information about each current US Supreme Court justice as well as materials about the Court as a whole.
Water Law
This guide provides information on federal and state water law, the Great Lakes Compact, water services & organizations, international laws, treatises, cases & climate change resources.
Wisconsin Legal Information Sources Guide
This guide compiles information about sources of authoritative legal information for Wisconsin attorneys, emphasizing reliable sources of free and low-cost information.
Wisconsin Legislative History
A guide to researching the legislative history of Wisconsin laws.

Log in to edit