Skip to Page Contents
Image of Gargoyle - UW Law School Mascot University of Wisconsin Law Library
Location Guide
Resources by Type
Navigation Bar Site Search UW Madison UW Law School UW Libraries MadCat Library Catalog Resource Guides Electronic Resources Library Services Library Information Home

Dictionaries, Glossaries
& Thesauri  
Encyclopedias Treatises
Legal Periodicals American Law
Reports (ALR)
Restatements
Case Law Digests Case Citators
Statutes & Constitutions Statute Citators Administrative Regulations

Dictionaries, Glossaries and Thesauri

Dictionaries, English Language

  • Wooden stand near entrance to Grand Reading Room, 5th Floor West
  • Wooden stand along the south wall of the Quarles & Brady Reading Room, 5th Floor East
  • Law Library Reference Collection in call numbers beginning with PE
  • Law Library Reserve Collection, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary PE1628 M36 2003

Dictionaries, Legal

  • Ballentine's Law Dictionary
    • Law Library Reference & Reserve Collections KF/156/B3/1969
  • Black's Law Dictionary
    • Law Library Reference & Reserve Collections KF/156/B53/1999
    • Wooden stand near entrance to Grand Reading Room, 5th Floor West
  • A Dictionary of Law
    • Law Library Reference Collection KD/313/C66/2006
  • Dictionary of Modern Legal Usage
  • Dictionary of Legal Terms: A Simplified Guide to the Language of Law
    • Law Library Reference Collection KF/156/G52/1998
  • Words & Phrases
    • Law Library Reference Collection KF/156/W67

Thesauri

  • Burton's Legal Thesaurus
    • Law Library Reference Collection KF/156/B856/1998
  • West's Legal Thesaurus / Dictionary
    • Law Library Reference & Reserve Collections KF/156/S72/1985

Return to TopReturn to Top

Encyclopedias

Legal Encyclopedias

  • American Jurisprudence 2d
    • Law Library Reference Collection KF/154/A47
  • Corpus Juris Secundum (C.J.S)
    • Law Library Reference Collection KF/154/C57
    • 4th Floor East, stack 26

Return to TopReturn to Top

Treatises

Most treatises or scholarly books are classified under the Library of Congress classification system. Call number usually begin with the letters KF which denote "American Law." Many of the more popular and well-respected treatises are located in the Law Library Reserve Collection shelved behind the Circulation Desk. Most other treatises are shelved in the second and third floor stacks.

To search for treatises and other materials owned by the UW-Madison Libraries use the MadCat Library Catalog at http://madcat.library.wisc.edu/. Librarians are available to assist you at the Law Library Reference Desk on the fifth floor.

Following are locations for call number ranges for stack materials:

  • Reserve Collection - 5th Floor South; ask at Circulation Desk for materials
  • Reference Collection - 5th Floor West
  • General Stack Materials:
    • Library of Congress classification A-K - 3rd Floor West
    • Library of Congress classification KB-KF4799 - 3rd Floor South
    • Library of Congress classification KF4800-Z - 2nd Floor South

Return to TopReturn to Top

Legal Periodicals

Legal Periodicals

  • Legal Periodicals are shelved alphabetically by title on 3rd Floor South and 3rd Floor East, beginning in the South stacks.

Legal Periodical Indexes

Return to TopReturn to Top

American Law Reports (A.L.R.)

American Law Reports (ALR) 1st - 6th

  • Law Library Reference Collection KF/132/A52 to KF/132/A56
  • 4th Floor East, stacks 24-25 (subscription discontinued after 5th Series)

American Law Reports Federal

  • Law Library Reference Collection KF/132/A48
  • 4th Floor East, stack 25

Return to TopReturn to Top

Restatements
  • Restatements of the Law -- Current
    • Law Library Reference & Reserve Collections KF/395...
  • Restatements of the Law -- Older
    • 3rd Floor South - KF/395...

Return to TopReturn to Top

Case Law

Federal Courts

  • U.S. Reports
    • 5th Floor East, stacks 6-11
    • 4th Floor East, stacks 17-18
  • Supreme Court Reporter (West)
    • 5th Floor East, stacks 11-13
    • 4th Floor East, stack 18 (subscription discontinued after vol.120)
  • US Supreme Court Reports (Law. Ed.)
    • 5th Floor East, stacks 14-16
    • 4th Floor East, stacks 18-19
  • Federal Reporter
    • 5th Floor East, stacks 30-35
    • 4th Floor East, stacks 19-21 (subscription discontinued after 3rd Series, vol. 195)
  • Slip Opinions (4th, 7th Circuits only)
    • 5th Floor East, stack 36
  • Federal Supplement
    • 5th Floor East, stacks 36-50
    • 4th Floor East, stacks 22-24 (subscription discontinued after 2nd Series, vol. 67)
  • Federal Rules Decisions
    • 5th Floor East, stacks 52-54
  • US Law Week (BNA)

State Courts

  • West's Regional Reporters
    • 5th Floor West, stacks 1-9
    • 4th Floor East, stacks 1-12
      • Atlantic Reporter (CT, DE, DC, MA, MD, NH, NJ, PA, RI, VT)
      • North Eastern Reporter (IL, IN, MA, NY, OH)
      • North Western Reporter (IA, MI, MN, NB, ND, SD, WI)
      • Pacific Reporter (AL, AR, CA, CO, HI, ID, KS, MT, NE, NM, OK, OR, UT, WA)
      • South Eastern Reporter (GA, NC, SC, VA, WV)
      • South Western Reporter (AR, KT, MO, TN, TX)
      • Southern Reporter (AL, FL, LA, MS)
  • State Court Reports
    • 2nd Floor South & 2nd Floor East (shelved alphabetically by state)
  • Wisconsin Reports (Callaghan's)
    • Law Library Reference Collection KFW/2445/A2
    • 4th Floor East, stacks 14-15
    • 2nd Floor East, stacks 21-22

Return to TopReturn to Top

Digests

Federal

  • US Supreme Court Digest
    • 5th Floor East, stack 13-14
  • US Supreme Court Digest (Lawyers' Edition)
    • 5th Floor East, stack 17
  • Federal Digests
    • 5th Floor East, Index Table
  • Modern Federal Practice Digest
    • 5th Floor East, Index Table
  • Federal Practice Digest
    • 5th Floor East, stacks 1-6 and Index Table

State

  • American Digest System (Century, Decennial, & General)
    • 5th Floor West, stacks 8-9
  • Northwest Digest (MI, WI, IA, MN, ND)
    • 5th Floor West, stack 9
  • State Digests
    • 2nd Floor East & 2nd Floor South (shelved alphabetically by state)
  • Wisconsin Digest 2d (West)
    • Law Library Reference Collection KFW/2457/W47
    • 4th Floor East, stack 15
    • 2nd Floor East, stacks 22
  • Wisconsin Digest (Callaghan's)
    • Law Library Reference Collection KFW/2457/C34
    • 2nd Floor East, stack 22

Return to TopReturn to Top

Case Citators

Federal & State

Wisconsin

  • Shepard's Wisconsin Citations
    • Law Library Reference Collection KFW/2459/S53

Return to TopReturn to Top

Statutes & Constitutions

Federal Statutes & Laws

State Statutes & Laws

  • 2nd Floor South & 2nd Floor East (shelved alphabetically by state)

Wisconsin Statutes & Laws

  • Wisconsin Statutes (current edition)
    • Law Library Reference and Reserve Collections KFW/2429/A2
  • Wisconsin Statutes (older editions)
    • Law Library Reference Collection KFW/2429/A2
    • 2nd Floor East, stack 20
  • Wisconsin Statutes Annotated
    • Law Library Reference & Reserve Collections KFW/2430/1957/A53
    • 4th Floor East, stack 15
    • 2nd Floor East, stack 20
  • Laws of Wisconsin (session laws)
    • Law Library Reference Collection KFW/2425/A215
    • 2nd Floor East, stack 19-20
  • Slip Laws (Acts)
    • Law Library Reference Collection KFW/2425/A217
      • See also West's Wisconsin Legislative Service
  • West's Wisconsin Legislative Service
      • Law Library Reference & Reserve Collections KFW/2430/1957/A53

Return to TopReturn to Top

Statute Citators

Federal & State

Wisconsin

  • Shepard's Wisconsin Citations
    • Law Library Reference Collection KFW/2459/S53

Return to TopReturn to Top

Administrative Regulations

Federal

State

  • State Administrative Regulations
    • 2nd Floor South & 2nd Floor East (shelved alphabetically by state)
  • Wisconsin Administrative Code
    • Law Library Reference Collection KFW/2435/1956/A27
    • 2nd Floor East, stack 20-21
  • Wisconsin Administrative Register
    • Law Library Reference Collection KFW/2435/1956/A27

     

Updated by Tara Boyer & Bonnie Shucha
University of Wisconsin-Madison Law Library
Revised: November 2006

Horizontal Rule

[Home]    [Information]    [Services]    [Faculty & Staff Services]    [E-Resources]   
[Guides]    [MadCat]    [UW Libraries]    [Law School]    [UW Madison]    [Site Search]
Horizontal  Rule
Web Master     Email Reference     Search Tips     About this Site

printer icon This page is printer-friendly

Horizontal Rule