Skip to Page Contents
Image of Gargoyle - UW Law School Mascot University of Wisconsin Law Library
Sources of U.S. Legal Information
for the International Attorney
Navigation Bar Site Search UW Madison UW Law School UW Libraries MadCat Library Catalog Resource Guides Electronic Resources Library Services Library Information Home

 

Sources for Legal Resources by Document Type:
Case Law; Citators; Legislation; Regulations; Law Review/Legal Journal Articles
Vendors/Suppliers of Legal Info:
By Fax/Mail/Email
; By Credit Card; By Paid Subscription


Case Law

Access Resource Name and Address Contents Dates of Coverage Additional Information
Free from Anywhere American Law Sources On-line (ALSO!)
http://www.lawsource.com/also/
All Federal, All States Varies (most mid 1990s→ Contains links to resources from other providers
Free from Anywhere lexisOne
http://www.lexisone.com
All Federal, All States Last 5 years Find by citation or keyword search
By Paid Subscription - Low priced VersusLaw
http://www.versuslaw.com
All Federal, All States Varies (most 1930s→) Coverage good, very economical
By Paid Subscription - Mid price Loislaw.com
http://www.loislaw.com
All Federal, All States Varies (most 1930s→) Coverage good, fairly economical
By Paid Subscription - Higher priced LexisNexis or lexisOne packages
http://www.lexisnexis.com
http://www.lexisone.com/legalresearch
Choose package for your needs Comprehensive Coverage and cost varies by package
By Paid Subscription - Higher priced Westlaw or WestlawPRO http://www.westlaw.com/SubOptions/ Choose package for your needs Comprehensive Coverage and cost varies by package
By Credit Card LexisNexis by Credit Card http://web.lexis.com/xchange/ccsubs/
cc_prods.asp
All Federal, All States Comprehensive Retrieve by citation or keyword search (Search FREE - Pay only for documents viewed - $9/doc)
By Credit Card Westlaw by Credit Card
http://creditcard.westlaw.com
All Federal, All States Comprehensive Retrieve by citation only ($15/doc)

 

Citators

Access Resource Name and Address Contents Dates of Coverage Additional Information
By Paid Subscription - Mid price GlobalCite via Loislaw.com
http://www.loislaw.com
All Federal, All States Only references other materials available on Loislaw.com Free with Loislaw.com subscription.
By Paid Subscription - Higher priced KeyCite via Westlaw & WestlawPRO
http://www.westlaw.com/SubOptions/
All Federal, All States Comprehensive Very reliable, Price may vary by subscription plan
By Paid Subscription - Higher priced Shepards via LexisNexis or
lexisOne
packages
http://www.lexisnexis.com
http://www.lexisone.com/legalresearch
All Federal, All States Comprehensive Very reliable, Price may vary by subscription plan
By Credit Card KeyCite via Westlaw by Credit Card
http://creditcard.westlaw.com
All Federal, All States Comprehensive Very reliable, Price is $4.25/citation
By Credit Card Shepards via
LexisNexis by Credit Card http://web.lexis.com/xchange/ccsubs/
cc_prods.asp
All Federal, All States Comprehensive Very reliable, Price is $4.25/citation

 

Legislation
Access Resource Name and Address Contents Dates of Coverage Additional Information
Free from Anywhere American Law Sources On-line (ALSO!)
http://www.lawsource.com/also/
Federal / State Bills, Acts & Statutes Current Contains links to resources from other providers
Free from Anywhere GPO Access
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/uscode
US Code 1994→ Very reliable, older versions of US Code available
Free from Anywhere Thomas
http://thomas.loc.gov
Federal Bills, Acts, Cong. Record, etc. Varies (earliest from 93rd Congress, 1973→) Very reliable
By Paid Subscription - Low priced VersusLaw
http://www.versuslaw.com
US Code, Selected State Statutes Current Browse or keyword / popular name search US Code, keyword search states
By Paid Subscription - Mid price Loislaw.com
http://www.loislaw.com
Federal / State Acts & Statutes Current Coverage good, fairly economical
By Paid Subscription - Higher priced LexisNexis or lexisOne packages
http://www.lexisnexis.com
http://www.lexisone.com/legalresearch
Choose package for your needs Varies Coverage and cost varies by package
By Paid Subscription - Higher priced Westlaw or WestlawPRO
http://www.westlaw.com/SubOptions/
Choose package for your needs Varies Coverage and cost varies by package
By Credit Card LexisNexis by Credit Card http://web.lexis.com/xchange/ccsubs/
cc_prods.asp
Federal / State Acts, Statutes, Bills etc. Varies Retrieve by citation or keyword search (Search FREE - Pay only for documents viewed - $9/doc)
By Credit Card Westlaw by Credit Card
http://creditcard.westlaw.com
Federal / State Acts, Statutes, Bills etc. Varies Retrieve by citation only ($15/doc)

 

Regulations
Access Resource Name and Address Contents Dates of Coverage Additional Information
Free from Anywhere American Law Sources On-line (ALSO!)
http://www.lawsource.com/also/
Federal / State Admin Codes & Regulations Current Contains links to resources from other providers
Free from Anywhere GPO Access
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/executive.html
CFR, Federal Register etc. CFR: 1996→
Fed Reg: 1994→
Very reliable
By Paid Subscription - Low priced VersusLaw
http://www.versuslaw.com
CFR, Selected State Regulations Current Browse or keyword / popular name search CFR, keyword search states
By Paid Subscription - Mid price Loislaw.com
http://www.loislaw.com
Federal / State Admin Codes & Regulations Current Coverage good, fairly economical
By Paid Subscription - Higher priced LexisNexis or lexisOne packages
http://www.lexisnexis.com
http://www.lexisone.com/legalresearch
Choose package for your needs Varies Coverage and cost varies by package
By Paid Subscription - Higher priced Westlaw or WestlawPRO
http://www.westlaw.com/SubOptions/
Choose package for your needs Varies Coverage and cost varies by package
By Credit Card LexisNexis by Credit Card http://web.lexis.com/xchange/ccsubs/
cc_prods.asp
Federal / State Admin Codes & Regulations Varies Retrieve by citation or keyword search (Search FREE - Pay only for documents viewed - $9/doc)
By Credit Card Westlaw by Credit Card
http://creditcard.westlaw.com
Federal / State Admin Codes & Regulations Varies Retrieve by citation only ($15/doc)

 

Law Review and Legal Journal Articles
Access Resource Name and Address Contents Dates of Coverage Additional Information
Free from Anywhere Google Scholar
http://scholar.google.com
Citations Varies General scholarly publications
Free from Anywhere American Law Sources On-line (ALSO!)
http://www.lawsource.com/also/usa.cgi?usj
Full-text Varies (most mid 1990's→) Coverage limited, Contains links to resources from other providers
Free from Anywhere Legal Scholarship Network
http://www.ssrn.com/lsn/
Abstracts, some full-text 1990's→ Coverage limited
Free from Anywhere University Law Review Project
http://www.lawreview.org
Full-text 1990's→ Coverage limited, Keyword search all journals or browse by title
By Paid Subscription - Higher priced LexisNexis
http://www.lexisnexis.com
Full-text Varies (most mid 1980's→) Coverage excellent, Cost varies by package
By Paid Subscription - Higher priced Westlaw
http://www.westlaw.com/SubOptions/
Full-text Varies (most mid 1980's→) Coverage excellent, Cost varies by package
By Credit Card LexisNexis by Credit Card http://web.lexis.com/xchange/ccsubs/
cc_prods.asp
Full-text Varies (most mid 1980's→) Retrieve by citation or keyword search (Search FREE - Pay only for documents viewed - $9/doc)
By Credit Card Westlaw by Credit Card
http://creditcard.westlaw.com
Full-text Varies (most mid 1980's→) Retrieve by citation only ($15/doc)

 

Suppliers of Legal Information by Fax, Mail, or Email
Name and Contact Information Coverage Pricing Information
Wisconsin State Law Library
1-800-322-9755 or
wsll.ref@wicourts.gov
Cases, legislation, regulations, journal articles, etc. Articles, etc. - $.75/page ($3 minimum)
Shepardize - $7.50/citation (up to 6 pages)

For more information, see fee schedule at http://wsll.state.wi.us/fees.html
Ex Libris @ Biddle Law Library
(Univ. of Penn)

1-215-898-9387 or
http://www.law.upenn.edu/bll/illdoc/exlibris
Cases, legislation, regulations, journal articles, books, etc.

Articles, etc. - Fax $1.page ($6 minimum); Mail: $.75/page ($6 minimum)
Books, etc.: $25/volume + return shipping

For more information, see fee schedule at http://www.law.upenn.edu/bll/illdoc/exlibris/pricing.html

Law Libraries in Other U.S. States
List of delivery services available at http://www.aallnet.org/caucus/docdel/
supplier.htm
l

Varies Varies

 

Vendors of Legal Information by Credit Card
Name and Contact Information Coverage Pricing Information
LexisNexis by Credit Card http://web.lexis.com/xchange/ccsubs/
cc_prods.asp
Cases, legislation, regulations, Shepards, journal articles, news, etc. Prices range from $1-$12/document - Most legal documents are $9; Shepards is $4.25 (Retrieve by citation or keyword search. Search FREE. Pay only for documents viewed)
Westlaw by Credit Card
http://creditcard.westlaw.com
Cases, legislation, regulations, KeyCite, journal articles, news, etc. Prices range from $15-19/document; KeyCite is $4.25 (Retrieve by citation only; no keyword searching available)

 

Vendors of Legal Information by Paid Subscription

Name and Contact Information Coverage Pricing Information**
LexisNexis
1-800-356-6548 -or- http://www.lexisnexis.com
Cases, legislation, regulations, Shepards, journal articles, etc. Varies by Firm/Organization
Please contact representative for details
lexisOne packages
1-800-539-4722 -or-
http://www.lexisone.com/legalresearch
Cases, legislation, regulations, Shepards, some journals; Choose package based on your needs Varies by Package (Designed for solos & small firms)
Please contact representative for details
Loislaw.com
1-800-364-2512 -or-
http://www.loislaw.com
Cases, legislation, regulations; Choose package based on your needs Packages range from $90/month unlimited for one state to $250/month for all state and federal unlimited
(Documents from jurisdictions outside your package are included FREE using "Find a case" or links from other documents)

VersusLaw
1-888-377-8752 -or- http://www.versuslaw.com
Cases and some legislation & regulations Packages range from $13.95/month unlimited case law to $39.95 unlimited complete access

Westlaw
In U.S.: 1-800-WESTLAW -or-
http://www.westlaw.com/SubOptions/

Outside U.S.: http://www.westlawinternational.com

Cases, legislation, regulations, KeyCite, journal articles, etc. Varies by Firm / Organization (prices = retail, but most firms pay less)
Hourly: $0.95-$16.29/minute + $.0.84/min connect/communication charges   -or-
Transactional: $6-$197/search
Printing: $7.50/document or $.035/line; KeyCite printing free
WestlawPRO
http://www.westlaw.com/
SubOptions/WestlawPRO/
Cases, legislation, regulations, KeyCite, some journals; Choose package based on your needs Varies by Package (Designed for solos & small firms)
Please contact representative for details
** Some vendors may be willing to negotiate on prices.

 

Access Types

Free from Anywhere By Paid Subscription - Low priced By Paid Subscription - Mid price By Paid Subscription - Higher priced By Credit Card
Free for Everyone By Paid Subscription -
Low Priced
By Paid Subscription -
Mid Priced
By Paid Subscription -
High Priced
By Credit Card

Compiled by: Bonnie Shucha
UW-Madison Law Library
Revised: January 2006

http://library.law.wisc.edu/guides/bibliographies/legalinfointl.htm

Horizontal Rule

[Home]    [Information]    [Services]    [Faculty & Staff Services]    [E-Resources]   
[Guides]    [MadCat]    [UW Libraries]    [Law School]    [UW Madison]    [Site Search]
Horizontal  Rule
Web Master     Email Reference     Search Tips     About this Site

printer icon This page is printer-friendly

Horizontal Rule