Skip to Page Contents
Image of Gargoyle - UW Law School Mascot University of Wisconsin Law Library
Sources of Legal Information
for the Wisconsin Attorney
As seen in the
Wisconsin Lawyer logo
Navigation Bar Site Search UW Madison UW Law School UW Libraries MadCat Library Catalog Resource Guides Electronic Resources Library Services Library Information Home
Vendors/Suppliers of Legal Info: By Fax/Mail/Email; By Credit Card; By Paid Subscription

Case Law

Access Resource Name and Address Contents Dates of Coverage Additional Information

Free from Anywhere

WisBar Legal Research
http://www.wisbar.org/legalres/
Wisconsin 1995→ Keyword search or browse by docket number, party name, date, & public domain citation
Free from Anywhere American Law Sources On-line (ALSO!)
http://www.lawsource.com/also/
All Federal,
All States
Varies (most mid 1990s→ Contains links to resources from other providers
Free from Anywhere lexisOne
http://www.lexisone.com
All Federal,
All States
Last 5 years Find by citation or keyword search
Free at Wisconsin State Law Library
Free at Dane County Legal Resource Center
Free at Milwaukee Legal Resource Center
Free at Marquette University Law Library
Shepards Public Access Service
Available only on library computers
All Federal,
All States
Comprehensive Retrieve by citation only
Free at UW Law Library
Free at Wisconsin State Law Library
Free at Milwaukee Legal Resource Center
Westlaw Public/Patron Access
Available only on library computers
All Federal,
All States
Comprehensive Find by citation or keyword search
Free at UW Law Library
Free at Wisconsin State Law Library
Free at Milwaukee Legal Resource Center
Free at Marquette University Law Library
Free at Milwaukee Public Library -or-
By Paid Subscription - Mid price
Loislaw.com & Loislawschool.com
Available on library computers -or-
http://www.loislaw.com
All Federal,
All States
(MPL = WI only)
Varies (most 1930s→) Coverage good, fairly economical
By Paid Subscription - Low priced VersusLaw
http://www.versuslaw.com
All Federal,
All States
Varies (most 1930s→) Coverage good, very economical
By Paid Subscription - Higher priced LexisNexis or lexisOne packages
http://www.lexisnexis.com
http://www.lexisone.com/legalresearch
Choose package for your needs Comprehensive Coverage and cost varies by package
By Paid Subscription - Higher priced Westlaw or WestlawPRO http://www.westlaw.com/SubOptions/ Choose package for your needs Comprehensive Coverage and cost varies by package
By Credit Card LexisNexis by Credit Card http://web.lexis.com/xchange/ccsubs/
cc_prods.asp
All Federal,
All States
Comprehensive Retrieve by citation or keyword search (Search FREE - Pay only for documents viewed - $9/doc)
By Credit Card Westlaw by Credit Card
http://creditcard.westlaw.com
All Federal,
All States
Comprehensive Retrieve by citation only ($15/doc)

 

Citators
Access Resource Name and Address Contents Dates of Coverage Additional Information
Free at Wisconsin State Law Library
Free at Dane County Legal Resource Center
Free at Milwaukee Legal Resource Center
Free at Marquette University Law Library
Shepards Public Access
Available only on library computers
All Federal,
All States
Comprehensive Very reliable (Fax/email/mail delivery available for $7.50/citation from WSLL - see delivery options)
Free at UW Law Library
Free at Wisconsin State Law Library
Free at Milwaukee Legal Resource Center
KeyCite via
Westlaw Public/Patron Access
Available only on library computers
All Federal,
All States
Comprehensive Very reliable
Free at UW Law Library
Free at Wisconsin State Law Library
Free at Milwaukee Legal Resource Center
Free at Marquette University Law Library -or-
By Paid Subscription - Mid price
GlobalCite via Loislaw.com & Loislawschool.com
Available on library computers -or-
http://www.loislaw.com
All Federal,
All States
Only references other materials available on Loislaw.com Free with Loislaw.com subscription.
By Paid Subscription - Higher priced KeyCite via Westlaw & WestlawPRO
http://www.westlaw.com/SubOptions/
All Federal,
All States
Comprehensive Very reliable, Price may vary by subscription plan
By Paid Subscription - Higher priced Shepards via LexisNexis or
lexisOne
packages
http://www.lexisnexis.com
http://www.lexisone.com/legalresearch
All Federal,
All States
Comprehensive Very reliable, Price may vary by subscription plan
By Credit Card KeyCite via Westlaw by Credit Card
http://creditcard.westlaw.com
All Federal,
All States
Comprehensive Very reliable, Price is $4.25/citation
By Credit Card Shepards via
LexisNexis by Credit Card http://web.lexis.com/xchange/ccsubs/
cc_prods.asp
All Federal,
All States
Comprehensive Very reliable, Price is $4.25/citation

 

Legislation
Access Resource Name and Address Contents Dates of Coverage Additional Information
Free from Anywhere Wisconsin State Legislature
http://www.legis.state.wi.us
Wisconsin Bills, Acts, Statutes, Constitution, etc. Stats: 1969→
A cts: 1969→
Bills: 1995→
Find by citation, keyword search or browse index or table of contents

Legislative notification service at http://notify.legis.state.wi.us
Free from Anywhere American Law Sources On-line (ALSO!)
http://www.lawsource.com/also/
Federal / State Bills, Acts & Statutes Current Contains links to resources from other providers
Free from Anywhere GPO Access
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/uscode
US Code 1994→ Very reliable, older versions of US Code available
Free from Anywhere Thomas
http://thomas.loc.gov
Federal Bills, Acts, Cong. Record, etc. Varies (earliest from 93rd Congress, 1973→) Very reliable
Free at Wisconsin State Law Library
Free at Dane County Legal Resource Center
Free at Milwaukee Legal Resource Center
Free at Marquette University Law Library
Shepards Public Access Service
Available only on library computers
Federal / State Acts & Statutes Current & some prior Retrieve by citation only
Free at UW Law Library
Free at Wisconsin State Law Library
Free at Milwaukee Legal Resource Center
Westlaw Public/Patron Access
Available only on library computers
Federal / State Acts & Statutes Current & some prior Find by citation or keyword search
Free at UW Law Library
Free at Wisconsin State Law Library
Free at Milwaukee Legal Resource Center
Free at Marquette University Law Library
Free at Milwaukee Public Library -or-
By Paid Subscription - Mid price
Loislaw.com & Loislawschool.com
Available on library computers -or-
http://www.loislaw.com
Federal / State Acts & Statutes
(MPL = WI only)
Current Coverage good, fairly economical
By Paid Subscription - Low priced VersusLaw
http://www.versuslaw.com
US Code, Selected State Statutes Current Browse or keyword / popular name search US Code, keyword search states
By Paid Subscription - Higher priced LexisNexis or lexisOne packages
http://www.lexisnexis.com
http://www.lexisone.com/legalresearch
Choose package for your needs Varies Coverage and cost varies by package
By Paid Subscription - Higher priced Westlaw or WestlawPRO
http://www.westlaw.com/SubOptions/
Choose package for your needs Varies Coverage and cost varies by package
By Credit Card LexisNexis by Credit Card http://web.lexis.com/xchange/ccsubs/
cc_prods.asp
Federal / State Acts, Statutes, Bills etc. Varies Retrieve by citation or keyword search (Search FREE - Pay only for documents viewed - $9/doc)
By Credit Card Westlaw by Credit Card
http://creditcard.westlaw.com
Federal / State Acts, Statutes, Bills etc. Varies Retrieve by citation only ($15/doc)

 

Regulations
Access Resource Name and Address Contents Dates of Coverage Additional Information
Free from Anywhere Revisor of Statutes Bureau
http://www.legis.state.wi.us/rsb/code.htm
Wisconsin Admin Code & Register Code: Current
Register: 1996→
Find by citation, keyword search or browse by chapter, date, & table of contents
Free from Anywhere American Law Sources On-line (ALSO!)
http://www.lawsource.com/also/
Federal / State Admin Codes & Regulations Current Contains links to resources from other providers
Free from Anywhere GPO Access
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/executive.html
CFR, Federal Register etc. CFR: 1996→
Fed Reg: 1994→
Very reliable
Free at Wisconsin State Law Library
Free at Dane County Legal Resource Center
Free at Milwaukee Legal Resource Center
Free at Marquette University Law Library
Shepards Public Access Service
Available only on library computers
Federal / State Admin Codes & Regulations Varies Retrieve by citation only
Free at UW Law Library
Free at Wisconsin State Law Library
Free at Milwaukee Legal Resource Center
Westlaw Public/Patron Access
Available only on library computers
Federal / State Admin Codes & Regulations Varies Find by citation or keyword search
Free at UW Law Library
Free at Wisconsin State Law Library
Free at Milwaukee Legal Resource Center
Free at Marquette University Law Library
Free at Milwaukee Public Library -or-
By Paid Subscription - Mid price
Loislaw.com & Loislawschool.com
Available on library computers -or-
http://www.loislaw.com
Federal / State Admin Codes & Regulations (MPL = WI only) Current Coverage good, fairly economical
By Paid Subscription - Low priced VersusLaw
http://www.versuslaw.com
CFR, Selected State Regulations Current Browse or keyword / popular name search CFR, keyword search states
By Paid Subscription - Higher priced LexisNexis or lexisOne packages
http://www.lexisnexis.com
http://www.lexisone.com/legalresearch
Choose package for your needs Varies Coverage and cost varies by package
By Paid Subscription - Higher priced Westlaw or WestlawPRO
http://www.westlaw.com/SubOptions/
Choose package for your needs Varies Coverage and cost varies by package
By Credit Card LexisNexis by Credit Card http://web.lexis.com/xchange/ccsubs/
cc_prods.asp
Federal / State Admin Codes & Regulations Varies Retrieve by citation or keyword search (Search is FREE - Pay only for documents viewed - $9/doc)
By Credit Card Westlaw by Credit Card
http://creditcard.westlaw.com
Federal / State Admin Codes & Regulations Varies Retrieve by citation only ($15/doc)

 

Law Review and Legal Journal Articles
Access Resource Name and Address Contents* Dates of Coverage Additional Information
Free at Wisconsin State Law Library
Free at Marquette University Law Library
Free from Anywhere with Free at Wisconsin State Law Library card

LegalTrac
Available on library computers  - and-
From anywhere with WSLL library card
http://wsll.state.wi.us/enterlt.html

Index only 1980s→

Coverage excellent

For a library card, contact WSLL at 1-800-322-9755 or wsll.ref@wicourts.gov

Free to Wisconsinites BadgerLink (not law specific)
http://www.badgerlink.net
Full-text 1980's→ General journals, magazines, & newspapers
Free from Anywhere Google Scholar (not law specific)
http://scholar.google.com
Citations Varies General scholarly publications
Free from Anywhere American Law Sources On-line (ALSO!)
http://www.lawsource.com/also/usa.cgi?usj
Full-text Varies (most mid 1990's→) Coverage limited, Contains links to resources from other providers
Free from Anywhere Legal Scholarship Network
http://www.ssrn.com/lsn/
Abstracts, some full-text 1990's→ Coverage limited
Free from Anywhere University Law Review Project
http://www.lawreview.org
Full-text 1990's→ Coverage limited, Keyword search all journals or browse by title

Free at Wisconsin State Law Library
Free at Dane County Legal Resource Center Free at Milwaukee Legal Resource Center
Free at Marquette University Law Library
Free at UW Law Library

Hein Online
Available on library computers  - and-
From anywhere with WSLL library card to firms with < 25 attorneys
http://wsll.state.wi.us/aboutlib/electronicresources.html

Full-text Varies (emphasis on older volumes) Especially good for older legal journals
Free at UW Law Library
Free at Wisconsin State Law Library
Free at Milwaukee Legal Resource Center
Westlaw Public/Patron Access
Available only on library computers
Full-text Varies (most mid 1980's→) Find by citation or keyword search
Free at UW Law Library Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text & Retrospective
Available only on library computers
Index with some full-text 1918→ Coverage excellent, especially for older legal journals
By Paid Subscription - Higher priced LexisNexis
http://www.lexisnexis.com
Full-text Varies (most mid 1980's→) Coverage excellent, Cost varies by package
By Paid Subscription - Higher priced Westlaw
http://www.westlaw.com/SubOptions/
Full-text Varies (most mid 1980's→) Coverage excellent, Cost varies by package
By Credit Card LexisNexis by Credit Card http://web.lexis.com/xchange/ccsubs/
cc_prods.asp
Full-text Varies (most mid 1980's→) Retrieve by citation or keyword search (Search FREE - Pay only for documents viewed - $9/doc)
By Credit Card Westlaw by Credit Card
http://creditcard.westlaw.com
Full-text Varies (most mid 1980's→) Retrieve by citation only ($15/doc)
* Indexes only contain citations, not the full-text of articles. To obtain the full-text of an article, copy or request it from a law library or use LexisNexis or Westlaw's credit card delivery services.

 

Wisconsin Law & Legislative Libraries
Resource Name and Address Additional Information
Dane County Legal Resource Center
(in the Dane Co. Courthouse)
215 S, Hamilton St., Rm L1007
Madison, WI 53703
Phone: 1-608-266-6316
http://wsll.state.wi.us//branch/dclrc/
Wisconsin attorneys may check out materials from the DCLRC at no charge. Some books may also be delivered to you for a fee (see delivery options).

Search the library catalog for availability (http://wsll.state.wi.us).
Marquette University Law Library
1103 W. Wisconsin Avenue
Milwaukee, WI 53201
Phone: 1-414-288-7092
http://law.marquette.edu/jw/library
Wisconsin attorneys, paralegals and law librarians may check out materials from Marquette Law Library for an annual fee of $35 (MU Law alumni) or $50 (non alumni).

Search the Marqcat Library Catalog for availability http://libus.csd.mu.edu).
Milwaukee Legal Resource Center
(in the Milw. Co. Courthouse)
901 N. 9th Street, Room 307A
Milwaukee, WI 53233
Phone: 1-414-278-4900
http://wsll.state.wi.us/branch/mlrc/
Wisconsin attorneys may check out materials from the MLRC at no charge. Some books may also be delivered to you for a fee (see delivery options).

Search the library catalog for availability (http://wsll.state.wi.us).
University of WI Law Library
975 Bascom Mall
Madison, WI 53706
Circulation: 1-608-262-1128
Reference: 1-608-262-3394
http://library.law.wisc.edu
Blog: WisBlawg
http://wisblawg.blogspot.com/
Anyone may check out materials from the UW Law Library at no charge. Some books may also be delivered to you for a fee (see delivery options).

Search the MadCat Library Catalog for availability (http://madcat.library.wisc.edu).
Theobald Legislative Library
(Wisconsin Legislative Reference Bureau)
One East Main St, Ste. 200
Madison, WI 53703-2307
Circulation: 1-608-266-7040
Reference: 1-608-266-0342
http://www.legis.state.wi.us/lrb/Library/
Although much of the collection must be used in the library, some materials do circulate. Anyone may check out circulating items from the Theobald Library at no charge. Some documents may also be delivered to you for a fee (see delivery options).

Search the LRBCAT Library Catalog for availability (http://www.legis.state.wi.us/lrb/lrbcat.htm)
Wisconsin State Law Library
120 Martin Luther King Jr Blvd, 2nd fl
Madison WI 53703
Phone: 1-800-322-9755
http://wsll.state.wi.us
Wisconsin attorneys & staff may check out materials from the WSLL at no charge. Some books may also be delivered to you for a fee (see delivery options).

Search the library catalog for availability (http://wsll.state.wi.us).

 

Suppliers of Legal Infomation by Fax, Mail, or Email
Name and Contact Information Coverage Pricing Information
Marquette University Law Library
1-414-288-7092
http://tinyurl.com/2jafgu
Cases, legislation, regulations, journal articles, etc. Articles, etc.: Prices range from $10/document + $.30-$1.00/page
Books, etc.: Not available for delivery
UW Law Library
Outlaw Document Delivery Service
1-608-262-3394 or
http://library.law.wisc.edu/services/
docdelivery/outlaw/
Cases, legislation, regulations, journal articles, books, etc. Articles, etc.: Prices range from $8-$25/document + $.20-$.50/page
Books, etc.: Prices range from $15-$25/volume + return shipping

For more information see fee schedule at http://library.law.wisc.edu/services/ docdelivery/outlaw/fee.htm
Theobald Legislative Library (LRB)
1-608-266-7040
Wisconsin legislative & government documents Fax/Mail: $10/hour + $.10/page
Duplicate Microfiche or Transfer Microfiche to CD (drafting records): $3 + $1/fiche or CD
Wisconsin State Law Library
1-800-322-9755 or wsll.ref@wicourts.gov
Cases, legislation, regulations, journal articles, books, etc. Articles, etc. - $.75/page ($3 minimum)
Shepardize - $7.50/citation (up to 6 pages)
Books, etc. (WI Licensed Attorneys only): $10/volume + return shipping

For more information see fee schedule at http://wsll.state.wi.us/aboutlib/fees.html
Your Local Public Library
Contact a public library to request materials from other libraries, including law libraries. This is often a free service.
Varies, but probably more limited than a law library Usually free, although delivery may take longer than requesting directly from one of the services listed above.

Madison Public Library http://www.madisonpubliclibrary.org
Milwaukee Public Library http://www.mpl.org/

Law Libraries in Other States
List of delivery services available at http://www.aallnet.org/caucus/docdel/
supplier.htm
l

Varies Varies

 

Vendors of Legal Infomation by Credit Card
Name and Contact Information Coverage Pricing Information
LexisNexis by Credit Card http://web.lexis.com/xchange/ccsubs/
cc_prods.asp
Cases, legislation, regulations, Shepards, journal articles, news, etc. Prices range from $1-$12/document - Most legal documents are $9; Shepards is $4.25 (Retrieve by citation or keyword search. Search FREE. Pay only for documents viewed)
Westlaw by Credit Card
http://creditcard.westlaw.com
Cases, legislation, regulations, KeyCite, journal articles, news, etc. Prices range from $15-19/document; KeyCite is $4.25 (Retrieve by citation only; no keyword searching available)

 

Vendors of Legal Infomation by Paid Subscription
Name and Contact Information Coverage Pricing Information**
LexisNexis
1-800-356-6548 -or- http://www.lexisnexis.com
Cases, legislation, regulations, Shepards, journal articles, etc. Varies by Firm/Organization
Please contact representative for details
lexisOne packages
1-800-539-4722 -or-
http://www.lexisone.com/legalresearch
Cases, legislation, regulations, Shepards, some journals; Choose package based on your needs Varies by Package (Designed for solos & small firms)
Please contact representative for details
Loislaw.com
1-800-364-2512 -or-
http://www.loislaw.com
Cases, legislation, regulations; Choose package based on your needs Packages range from $25 to $250/month
(Documents from jurisdictions outside your package are included FREE using "Find a case" or links from other documents)

Half price for first year after law school graduation
VersusLaw
1-888-377-8752 -or- http://www.versuslaw.com
Cases and some legislation & regulations Packages range from $13.95/month unlimited case law to $39.95 unlimited complete access

Westlaw
In U.S.: 1-800-WESTLAW -or-
http://www.westlaw.com/SubOptions/

Outside U.S.: http://www.westlawinternational.com

Cases, legislation, regulations, KeyCite, journal articles, etc. Varies by Firm / Organization (prices = retail, but most firms pay less)
Hourly: $1.78-$20.10/minute  -or-
Transactional: $8-$200/search
Printing: $10/document or $.04/line; KeyCite printing free
WestlawPRO
http://www.westlaw.com/
SubOptions/WestlawPRO/
Cases, legislation, regulations, KeyCite, some journals; Choose package based on your needs Varies by Package (Designed for solos & small firms)
Please contact representative for details
** Some vendors may be willing to negotiate on prices.

Access Types

Free from Anywhere Free to Wisconsinites By Paid Subscription - Low priced By Paid Subscription - Mid price By Paid Subscription - Higher priced By Credit Card
Free for Everyone Free to Wisconsinites By Paid Subscription - Low Priced By Paid Subscription - Mid Priced By Paid Subscription - High Priced By Credit Card
Free at Dane County Legal Resource Center Free at Marquette University Law Library Free at Milwaukee Legal Resource Center Free at Milwaukee Public Library Free at UW Law Library Free at Wisconsin State Law Library
Free at Dane County Legal Resource Center Free at Marquette University Law Library Free at Milwaukee Legal Resource Center Free at Milwaukee Public Library Free at University of Wisconsin Law Library Free at Wisconsin State Law Library

 

Compiled by: Bonnie Shucha
UW-Madison Law Library
Revised: May 2007

http://library.law.wisc.edu/guides/bibliographies/legalinfo.htm

Horizontal Rule

[Home]    [Information]    [Services]    [Faculty & Staff Services]    [E-Resources]   
[Guides]    [MadCat]    [UW Libraries]    [Law School]    [UW Madison]    [Site Search]
Horizontal  Rule
Web Master     Email Reference     Search Tips     About this Site

printer icon This page is printer-friendly

Horizontal Rule