Skip to Page Contents
Image of Gargoyle - UW Law School Mascot University of Wisconsin Law Library

Canada

A Legal Research Guide

Navigation Bar Site Search UW Madison UW Law School UW Libraries MadCat Library Catalog Resource Guides Electronic Resources Library Services Library Information Home

Introduction

Canada is a constitutional monarchy with a parliamentary democracy. Parliament consists of a bicameral legislature composed of the House of Commons (elected) and the Senate (appointed).

Power is distributed between the federal and provincial governments. Jurisdiction is determined by the area of law. Generally, any area of law not specifically belonging to the provincial government falls under the jurisdiction of the federal government.

The Canadian legal system is based on English common law, except in Quebec, where civil law system based on French law prevails.

IV. Secondary Sources
of Law

I. Case Law

Organization of the Judicial Branch

Case Law Reporters - General
Jurisdiction: Published in: Location:
Federal Supreme Court

Canada Supreme Court Reports / Canada Law Reports: Supreme Court (SCR) - official reporter

 

 

1876-Present

1st Floor, East s.19, Supreme Court of Canada,
LexisNexis Academic, LexisNexis & Westlaw
  See also Federal Court Index and Docket  
Federal Court of Appeal & Trial Division

Canada Federal Court Reports (FC) / Canada Law Reports: Exchequer Reports of Canada (ExCR) - official reporter (selected cases)

 

 

1875-Present

1st Floor, East s.19-20 & Westlaw
 

1877-Present

LexisNexis Academic & LexisNexis
 

1988-Present

CanLII
  See also Federal Court Index and Docket  
Federal Supreme Court & Court of Appeal

Dominion Law Reports (DLR)

1912-Present

 

1st Floor, East s.20-21 & Westlaw

Provincial
All Provinces

Court decisions

1800s-Present (varies by title)

 

1st Floor, East,
LexisNexis Academic
, LexisNexis, Westlaw & LLMC Digital

Provincial
Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta, British Columbia, Yukon Territory, Nunavut,
Northwest Territories
Western Weekly Reports (WWR)

1912-Present

 

1st Floor, East s.25-26 & Westlaw

Provincial
Ontario

Ontario (Law) Reports

1882-Present

1931-Present
.

1979-Present

 

1st Floor, East s.28-29

LexisNexis Academic & LexisNexis

Westlaw

Provincial
Quebec

Les Rapports Judiciaires de Québec / (Les) Recueil(s) de Jurisprudence du Québec (French)

1892- Present

See also Jugements du Québec (French),
1973-Present

See also Quebec Case Law All (English),
1979-Present

 


1st Floor, East s.31

LexisNexis Academic
.

Westlaw

 

Case Law Reporters - Topical
Topic: Published in: Location:
Multiple Topics

Court decisions

1900s-Present (varies by title)

Westlaw

Criminal

Canadian Criminal Cases (CCC)

1898-2003

1946-Present

 

1st Floor, East s.22-23

Westlaw

 

Criminal Reports (CR)

1946-2001

1946-Present

 

1st Floor, East s.22

Westlaw

Environmental

Canadian Environmental Law Reports

1987-2002

1994-Present

 

1st Floor, East s.22

Westlaw

 

Case Law - Digests & Indices Location:
The Canadian Abridgment Case Digests (consolidated)  

1803-Present
.

From the earliest times-1996

Canadian Abridgment, Case Digests & Westlaw

1st Floor, East s.21-22

Canadian Case Citations

1867-Present

 

1st Floor, East s.22

Canadian Current Law (annual)

1948-Present

 

1st Floor, East s.22

 

Case Law - Updating or "Noting up" (a.k.a. "Shepardizing") Location:

Canadian Case Citations - a component of the Canadian Abridgment

1867-2006

 

.
1st Floor, East s.22

KeyCite

1825-Present

 

Westlaw

 

II. Legislation

Organization of the Legislative Branch (Federal)

Bills - Federal - alphanumeric numbering system: C for House of Commons or S for Senate followed by number; must pass through three readings before becoming law
Published in: Location:

Parliament of Canada Web Site

35th Parliament (1994)-Present

 

Parliament of Canada

Check Status:

LEGISinfo

37th Parliament (2001)-Present

 

Parliament of Canada

Progress of Bills in the Legislation Annual / Canadian Current Law Legislation

1989-Present

 

.
1st Floor, East s.18

Status of House Business (formerly Status of Bills and Motions), House of Commons

1991-Present

 

.
1st Floor, East s.18

 

Acts - Federal (Recent)
Published in: Location:

Statutes of Canada (Session Laws)

1867-Present

1867-1945

1995-Present

2000-2006

.

1st Floor, East s.18

LLMC Digital

CanLII

Hein Online

Canada Gazette Pt III (Acts of Parliament)

Current year only

1998-Present

.

1st Floor, East s.19

Government of Canada

Table of Private Acts of Canada,
1867 to December 31, 2000

1st Floor, East s.18

 

Consolidated Code - Federal - arranged by first letter in short title that relates to subject matter followed by a number
Published in: Location:

Consolidated Statutes of Canada, current

CanLII, Dept of Justice, LexisNexis Academic, LexisNexis & Westlaw

Revised Statutes of Canada (RSC) (consolidated)

1886, 1906, 1927, 1952, 1970, 1985

.

1st Floor, East s.18

Amended and updated by:

 

Table of Public Statutes & Responsible Matters shelved with Canada Gazette Pt III (Cites to acts passed since last consolidation - Acts appear in Statutes of Canada)

1st Floor, East s.19

Office Consolidations (collections of laws on specific areas of law), Selected

1st Floor, East s.18

 

Finding Aids  

Index to Federal and Ontario Statutes

1st Floor, East s.28
Judicial Interpretation  

Canadian Statute Citations - a component of the Canadian Abridgment

 

1800s-Present

Canadian Abridgment,
Statute Citations

1975-2000

1st Floor, East s.22

Canada Statute Citator

 

1980-1987 (R.S.C. 1970 ed.)

1st Floor, East s.18

1988-2004 (R.S.C. 1985 ed.)

1st Floor, East s.18

KeyCite

1825-Present

 

Westlaw

 

Statutes - Provincial
Province: Published in: Location:
Alberta

Statutes of Alberta (session laws)

1997-Present

1906-Present

 

Alberta Government

1st Floor, East s. 24-25

 

Revised Statutes of Alberta (consolidated)

Current
.

1915, 1922, 1955, 1970, 1980

1922

 

LexisNexis Academic, LexisNexis & Westlaw

1st Floor, East s. 25

LLMC Digital

British Columbia

Statutes of British Columbia (session laws)

1992-Present
.

1915-Present

1890-1995

 

Legislative Assembly of British Columbia

1st Floor, East s. 26

LLMC Digital

 

Revised Statutes of British Columbia (consolidated)

Current

.

1924, 1936, 1960, 1979, 1996

1871, 1888

 


BC Queen's Printer,
LexisNexis Academic
, LexisNexis & Westlaw

1st Floor, East s. 26

LLMC Digital

Manitoba

Statutes of Manitoba (session laws)

1988-Present

1889-Present

1872-1945

 

CanLII

1st Floor, East s. 26

LLMC Digital

 

Revised Statutes of Manitoba (consolidated)

Current

1880, 1891, 1902, 1913, 1940, 1954, 1970, 1987, 1988, 1990

 

CanLII & Westlaw

1st Floor, East s. 26 &

New Brunswick

Acts of New Brunswick (session laws)

2000-Present

1904-2002

1786-1870

 

CanLII

1st Floor, East s. 26-27

LLMC Digital

 

Consolidated / Revised Statutes of New Brunswick

Current

1903, 1927, 1952, 1973

 


CanLII
& Westlaw

1st Floor, East s. 27

New Foundland & Labrador

Newfoundland Legislative Acts / Acts of General Assembly / Newfoundland Statutes (session laws)

1990-Present

1916-Present

1900-1989

 

 

CanLII

1st Floor, East s. 27

LLMC Digital

 

Consolidated / Revised Statutes of Newfoundland

Current

1916, 1952, 1970, 1990

 


CanLII
& Westlaw

1st Floor, East s. 27

Northwest Territories

General Ordinances of the Northwest Territories / Northwest Territories Revised Ordinances / Revised Statutes of the Northwest Territories (consolidated)

Current

1905, 1930, 1956, 1974, 1988

1899

 

 


CanLII
& Westlaw

1st Floor, East s. 27

LLMC Digital

Nova Scotia

Statutes of Nova Scotia (session laws)

1995-Present

1924-2001

1864-1945

 

CanLII

1st Floor, East s. 27

LLMC Digital

 

Revised Statutes of Nova Scotia (consolidated)

Current

1923, 1954, 1967, 1989

 

CanLII & Westlaw

1st Floor, East s. 27-28

Nunavut

Statutes of Nunavut (session laws)

1999-Present

 

CanLII

 

Consolidated Statutes of Nunavut

Current

 

CanLII & Westlaw

Ontario

Statutes of Ontario (session laws)

2000-Present

1868-Present

1868-1979

 

CanLII

1st Floor, East s. 28

LLMC Digital

 

Revised Statutes of Ontario (consolidated)

Current
.

1897, 1914, 1927, 1930, 1937, 1950, 1960, 1970, 1980, 1990

1859, 1887-1897

 

CanLII, LexisNexis Academic, LexisNexis, & Westlaw

1st Floor, East s. 28


LLMC Digital

Prince Edward Island

Prince Edward Island Acts (session laws)

1988-Present

 

1st Floor, East s. 30

 

Revised Statutes of Prince Edward Island (consolidated)

Current

1988

 


CanLII
& Westlaw

1st Floor, East s. 30

Quebec

Statutes of Quebec (session laws)

1996-Present

1867-Present

 

CanLII

1st Floor, East s. 30

 

Revised Statutes of Quebec (consolidated)

Current
.

1883, 1888, 1909, 1925, 1941, 1964, 1977

1865

 

CanLII, LexisNexis
& Westlaw

1st Floor, East s. 30

.
LLMC Digital

Saskatch-
ewan

Statutes of (the Province of) Saskatchewan (session laws)

1906-Present

1906-1945


.

1st Floor, East s. 31-32

LLMC Digital

 

Revised Statutes of Saskatchewan
(consolidated)

Current

1909, 1920, 1953, 1978


.

CanLII & Westlaw

1st Floor, East s. 32

Yukon Territory

Statutes of the Yukon (session laws)

1988-Present

1904-2000

 

1st Floor, East s. 32

LLMC Digital

 

Yukon Territory Revised Statutes
(consolidated)

Current

1986, 2002

1902


.

CanLII & Westlaw

1st Floor, East s. 32

LLMC Digital

 

III. Administrative Regulations

Organization of the Executive Branch

Administrative Regulations - Federal - numeric numbering system: S.O.R. for "Statutory Orders and Regulations" followed by year and number
Published in: Location:

Consolidated Regulations of Canada (CRC)

Current
.

1978

1889, 1949, 1955

 

CanLII, LexisNexis Academic, LexisNexis, & Westlaw

1st Floor, East s.18

LLMC Digital

Amended and updated by:
Canada Gazette Pt II


1st Floor, East s.18-19 &
Government of Canada

Finding Aids:  

Consolidated Index of Statutory Instruments published quarterly in Canada Gazette Pt. II

1st Floor, East s.19 &
Government of Canada

Canada Regulations Index

1978-July 2007

 

1st Floor, East s.18

Legislation Annual / Canadian Current Law Legislation

1989-Present

 

1st Floor, East s.18

Rules Judicially Considered

1986-Present

 

1st Floor, East s.22

 

IV. Secondary Sources of Law

Journal Indexes Location:

Canadian Legal Literature, 1991-Present

Law Library Index Tables

Index to Canadian Legal Periodical Literature (ICLPL), 1961-Present

Reference Collection, s.34

Index to Canadian Legal Literature (ICLL),
1985-Present

Reference Collection, s.34 & Westlaw

See also full text Canadian legal periodicals on Hein Online, LexisNexis Academic, LexisNexis, & Westlaw  

 

Encyclopedias Location:

Canadian Encyclopedic Digest (CED)

 

Both Ontario Edition and Western Editions, Current

Canadian Abridgment, Encyclopedic Digest & Westlaw

Ontario Edition, 1st-3d editions, To 1997

1st Floor, East s.24

Western Edition, 2d-3d editions, To 1997

1st Floor, East s.24

 

Dictionaries Location:

Pocket Dictionary of Canadian Law (2002)

Reference Collection
KE183 D85 2002

English-French Glossary of Legal Terminology: Terms Commonly Used in Public and Private Law (1995)

Reference Collection
KE184 P64 1995

Words & Phrases Judicially Defined in Canadian Courts and Tribunals (Last Updated June 2006)

1st Floor, East stack 17

 

V. Legal Research Guides Location:

Banks on Using a Law Library: a Canadian Guide to Legal Research (1994)

Reference Collection
KE250 B3 1994

Best Guide to Canadian Legal Research

Catherine P. Best

Canadian Guide to Uniform Legal Citation (2002)

Reference Collection
KE259 T36 2002
Doing Legal Research in Canada LLRX
How to Understand Statutes and By-laws (1996) Reference Collection
KE482 S84 G54 1996

Introduction to Legal Research & Citation

Bora Laskin Law Library
Updating Statutes and Regulations for All Canadian Jurisdictions. (1995) Reference Collection
KE250 S47 1995

 

Updated by Bonnie Shucha
University of Wisconsin-Madison Law Library
Revised: March 2008

Horizontal Rule

[Home]    [Information]    [Services]    [Faculty & Staff Services]    [E-Resources]   
[Guides]    [MadCat]    [UW Libraries]    [Law School]    [UW Madison]    [Site Search]
Horizontal  Rule
Web Master     Email Reference     Search Tips     About this Site

printer icon This page is printer-friendly

Horizontal Rule