Skip to Page Contents
Image of Gargoyle - UW Law School Mascot University of Wisconsin Law Library
About Wisconsin Briefs

Navigation Bar Site Search UW Madison UW Law School UW Libraries MadCat Library Catalog Resource Guides Electronic Resources Library Services Library Information Home

The Wisconsin Briefs collection database is generated from scanned images created by the Wisconsin State Law Library. The UW Law Library has made these electronic documents freely available from our Web site.

What does the Wisconsin Briefs collection contain?

The Wisconsin Briefs collection contains briefs for all published Wisconsin Supreme Court and Court of Appeals published cases and all unpublished Court of Appeals cases beginning with 173 Wis.2d (November, 1992). Briefs from very recent or pending cases may not be available. Contact the Wisconsin State Law Library to request these briefs.

The database does not contain briefs for cases that have been summarily disposed of or otherwise terminated. Contact the Clerk of the Supreme Court and Court of Appeals for access to briefs from these cases.

For older Wisconsin Briefs, see the Wisconsin Briefs Finding Guide.

How can I verify what briefs have been filed in a case?

The Clerk of the Supreme Court and Court of Appeals' database, WSCCA.i, has docket information on cases from 1993 forward. Look under the History tab to find information about briefs filed.

Contact the UW Law Library:

  • For questions on searching or viewing briefs in the database. Also see the Wisconsin Briefs Quick Guide.
  • For assistance locating pre-173 Wis.2d briefs.

Contact the Wisconsin State Law Library:

  • With questions on database content: missing briefs, scanning errors, etc.
  • For access to briefs in recently decided or pending cases.
  • For assistance locating pre-173 Wis.2d briefs.
  • For assistance obtaining docket numbers. Also see the Wisconsin Briefs Quick Guide.

Return to Wisconsin Briefs Search Page

Horizontal Rule

[Home]    [Information]    [Services]    [Faculty & Staff Services]    [E-Resources]   
[Guides]    [MadCat]    [UW Libraries]    [Law School]    [UW Madison]    [Site Search]
Horizontal  Rule
Web Master     Email Reference     Search Tips     About this Site

printer icon This page is printer-friendly

Horizontal Rule