Skip to Page Contents
Image of Gargoyle - UW Law School Mascot University of Wisconsin Law Library
Print Journal and News Article Indexes
Navigation Bar Site Search UW Madison UW Law School UW Libraries MadCat Library Catalog Resource Guides Electronic Resources Library Services Library Information Home
General
Covering All Areas of Law
Specialized
Children's Law, Criminal Justice, Foreign Law, Public Policy, State Law, & Taxation

Unless otherwise noted, print indexes are located near the entrance to the Grand Reading Room on index tables and on nearby shelf 34.

General

Index to Legal Periodicals (and Books) 1908 - to date

Index to legal periodicals, law books, court decisions, legislation and more. Covers all areas of law from the United States and Commonwealth countries.

Also available electronically on:
Law Library Web Site, 1981 - to date
(Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text)
LexisNexis, 1978 - to date
Westlaw, 1981 - to date

Current Law Index 1980 - to date

Index to scholarly and practitioner-oriented legal periodicals. Covers all areas of United States law. Current Law Index is the print companion to Legal Resource Index. However, LRI (available on LexisNexis and Westlaw), only indexes scholarly periodicals.

Also available electronically on:
LexisNexis (as Legal Resource Index), 1977 - to date
Westlaw (as Legal Resource Index), 1980 - to date

Index to Legal Periodical Articles Related to Law  1958 - to date

Index to law-related articles not included in other legal periodical indexes. Covers all areas of United States law.

Index to Legal Periodical Literature (spine title = Index to Legal Periodicals) 1886-1937

Index to legal periodicals, law books, court decisions, legislation and more. Covers all areas of United States law.

The New York Times Index 1952 - 1994

Index to articles appearing in The New York Times.

 

Specialized
Children's Law

Kindex: An Index to Legal Periodical Literature Concerning Children 1976-1994

Index to periodical literature concerning the legal issues of children.

Criminal Justice

Criminal Justice Abstracts (formerly Crime and Delinquency Literature)1968 - to date

Abstracts of journal articles, books, reports, and dissertations relating to criminal justice. Indexes United States and foreign publications.

Also available electronically on:
Law Library Web Site, 1968 - to date

Criminal Justice

Criminal Justice Periodical Index 1975 - 1998

Index to articles appearing in criminal justice journals. Most publications focus on practical, rather than theoretical issues.

Also available electronically on:
Law Library Web Site, Mid 1980's - to date

Foreign Law

Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals  1960 - to date

Index to world-wide legal literature from common law countries other than the United States and United Kingdom. Covers foreign law, comparative law, and legal systems. Includes journal articles, reports, essays, yearbooks, and book reviews in a variety of languages

Also available electronically on:
Law Library Web Site, 1985 - to date
Westlaw, 1985 - to date

Foreign Law

Legal Journals Index 1986 - 1999

Index to articles from legal journals published in and pertaining to the United Kingdom and European Community.

Also available electronically on:
Westlaw, 1986 - to date

Foreign Law

European Legal Journals Index 1993 - 1999

Index to articles from legal journals published in and pertaining to Europe.

Foreign Law

Current Australian and New Zealand Legal Literature Index 1973-1987

Index to articles from legal journals, case notes, reports, book reviews and more published in and pertaining to Australia and New Zealand.

Foreign Law

Index to Canadian Legal Periodical Literature 1961 - to date

Index to articles from legal journals published in and pertaining to Canada.

Foreign Law

Index to Canadian Legal Literature 1981 - to date

Index to Canadian legal periodicals, law books, book reviews, case comments, government publications and more.

Public Policy

Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS) 1950 - 1994

Index to world-wide literature concerning public policy, social policy, and the social sciences. Includes journal articles, books, government documents, statistical compilations, committee reports, directories, and more.

Also available electronically on:
Law Library Web Site, 1972 - to date

State Law

Subject Compilations of State Laws 1960 - to date (Call number Ref KF 1 F67)

Index to articles, books, government publications, court opinions, and websites that contain compilations of United States state laws.

Taxation

Index to Federal Tax Articles 1974 - to date (Call number Ref KF 6335 A1 G62)

Index to articles about federal income tax, estate tax, gift tax, and federal tax policy published in legal, accounting, and economic periodicals.

Horizontal Rule

[Home]    [Information]    [Services]    [Faculty & Staff Services]    [E-Resources]   
[Guides]    [MadCat]    [UW Libraries]    [Law School]    [UW Madison]    [Site Search]
Horizontal  Rule
Web Master     Email Reference     Search Tips     About this Site

printer icon This page is printer-friendly

Horizontal Rule