Skip to Page Contents
Image of Gargoyle - UW Law School Mascot University of Wisconsin Law Library
Electronic Resources
Reference Works
Navigation Bar Site Search UW Madison UW Law School UW Libraries MadCat Library Catalog Resource Guides Electronic Resources Library Services Library Information Home

Dictionaries
General & Legal

Encyclopedias
General & Legal
Directories
General, Legal,
Government & Business

Dictionaries
Free
General

Merriam-Webster Online 

Complete Merriam-Webster Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus.

Free
General

Bartleby.com 

Complete American Heritage Dictionary, Roget's II Thesaurus, and other English language reference titles.

Law Building only
Legal

The Lawyer's Reference Shelf 1999 Edition

Full-text of A Dictionary of Modern Legal Usage, Second Edition and The Oxford Dictionary of American Legal Quotations.

Free
Legal

Merriam-Webster's Dictionary of Law 1996 Edition

Keyword search for legal definitions.

Free

Legal

Nolo's Law Dictionary (updated monthly)

Legal definitions in plain-English for more than one thousand legal terms.

Free
General

Acroynm Finder

Find out what any acronyms, abbreviations, or initials mean.


Encyclopedias
Free
General

Britannica.com  

Full-text, updated edition of the freely available Encyclopedia Britannica. UW-Madison patrons can also access the more complete Britannica Online.

Free
Legal

Nolo's Legal Encyclopedia  

Plain-English articles on law-related topics.

Law Building only
Legal

Foreign Law: Current Sources of Codes and Basic Legislation in Jurisdictions Around the World (updated quarterly)

Concise descriptions of each country's legal system, the main sources of law, the nature of the legal literature, followed by a list of major laws and whether there is an English translation.

Law Building only

Legal

Canadian Abridgment, Encyclopedic Digest (updated quarterly)

Encyclopedia of Canadian law arranged by subject. Includes both Ontario and Western editions. Similar to American Jurisprudence or Corpus Juris Secundum.

Directories
Free
General

Infobel Telephone Directories on the Web

Index of online phone books worldwide, including reverse look-ups.

Free
General

University of Wisconsin-Madison Directory 

Directory of UW-Madison students, faculty, and staff.

Free
Legal

Martindale-Hubbell 

National and international lawyer and law firm directory. 

Free
Legal

West's Legal Directory via FindLaw 

National lawyer and law firm directory. 

Free
Legal

WisBar Lawyer Search  

Directory of Wisconsin licensed attorneys.

Free
Legal

Low Cost Legal Resources in Dane County

Directory of free and low cost legal services available in Dane County, WI.

Free
Legal

ABA Approved Law Schools  

Directory of law schools approved by the American Bar Association.

Free
Legal

LexisNexis Directory of Law Reviews

Online directory of law reviews and scholarly legal periodicals with contact information.

Free
Legal

State Bar Examiners  

Directory of State Bar Examiners with contact information and web site links.

Law Building only
Govern-
ment

Politics in America 2000 Edition, 106th Congress (updated biennially)

Profiles of members of Congress including contact information, biographical data, committee assignments, key votes, and more. Also includes district profiles containing demographic, economic, and political data.

Free
Govern-
ment

LSU Libraries Federal Agencies Directory 

Directory of federal government agencies as represented in the United States Government Manua

 
Free
Business

Hoover's Online 

Company profiles including contact information, company descriptions, news, and financial information.

Free
Business

Free Edgar  

Securities and Exchange Commission filings for publicly held corporations.  

Free
Business

Guidestar 

Profiles of nonprofit organizations in the United States. Contains information about operations and finances.

Free
Business

Wisconsin DFI's Corporate Registration Information System (CRIS) 

Profiles of Wisconsin corporations. Contains legal business name, date of registration, current status (incorporated, organized, merged, dissolved, etc.), description (corporation, llc, cooperative, etc), registered agent, and previously used entity names.

Free
Business

Wisconsin License, Permit, & Registration Services  

Profiles of Wisconsin's licensed business, education, or health professionals, as well as licensed business entites. Includes date the license was granted, the current status, and whether the licensee has ever been reprimanded. Information about applying for licenses in Wisconsin also available.


Statistics
On-campus / UW User Remote

LexisNexis Statistical 1950s - to date (updated daily)

Index to and selected full-text U.S. statistical data. Includes contents of the American Statistics Index (ASI), Statistical Reference Index (SRI), and Index to International Statistics (IIS).

Free

Statistical Resources on the Web  

Topical directory of government statistics available on the Internet.

Free

WisStat

Demographic and economic statistics for the state of Wisconsin, its counties and smaller communitites.

Free

American FactFinder

Population, housing, ecomonic, and geographic statistics from the US Census Bureau.

Free

FedStats 

Statistics from United States government agencies compiled by the Federal Interagency Council of Statistical Policy.

Free

CenStats 

Statistics compiled by the United States Census Bureau. Includes Annual Survey of Manufacturers, Building Permits, Consolidated Federal Funds Report, County Business Patterns, US International Trade Statistics, Detailed Occupation by Race and Sex, USA Counties, and more.

Free

Bureau of Labor Statistics 

Statistics compiled by the BLS on employment, compensation and working conditions, productivity and technology, and prices and living conditions. The latter includes Consumer and Producer Price Indexes.

Free

Criminal Justice Statistics 

Statistics compiled by the United States Department of Justice, Bureau of Justice Statistics.


Maps
Free

MapQuest

Interactive atlas of the United States spans continental level to rural back roads.

Free

United States Gazetter  

Maps and census data for United States cities from the US Census Bureau.


Language Translators
Free

BabelFish

Translates web pages and text in French, German, Spanish, Italian, Portuguese, Russian, Japanese, Korean, and Chinese.

Free

Promt's Online Translator

Translates web pages, text, and email messages in French, German, Spanish, and Russian.

Free

Systran Internet Translations Technologies

Translates web pages and text in French, German, Spanish, and Portuguese.



Free Free to Wisconsinites On-campus / UW User Remote Law building / Law user remote Law Building only Law Library only Password Required
Free for Everyone Free to Wisconsinites On-campus / UW User Remote Law Bldg / Law User Remote Law Building only Law Library only Password Required
For tips on constructing a search, see the E-Resources Connectors Table

 

Horizontal Rule

[Home]    [Information]    [Services]    [Faculty & Staff Services]    [E-Resources]   
[Guides]    [MadCat]    [UW Libraries]    [Law School]    [UW Madison]    [Site Search]
Horizontal  Rule
Web Master     Email Reference     Search Tips     About this Site

printer icon This page is printer-friendly

Horizontal Rule