Skip to Page Contents
Image of Gargoyle - UW Law School Mascot University of Wisconsin Law Library
Electronic Resources
Books, Theses & Dissertations
Navigation Bar Site Search UW Madison UW Law School UW Libraries MadCat Library Catalog Resource Guides Electronic Resources Library Services Library Information Home

Books
Free

MadCat Library Catalog

Catalog of books and other materials owned by the UW-Madison libraries, including the Law Library.

On-campus / UW User Remote

WorldCat Library Catalog

Catalog of more than 44 million books and other materials owned by libraries around the world. Supports online interlibrary loan requests.

.
On-campus / UW User Remote

Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text & Retrospective 1908 - to date (updated daily)

Index to legal periodicals, court decisions, legislation and more. Full text coverage for selected periodicals is also available. Law books are indexed beginning in 1993. Covers all areas of law from the United States and Commonwealth countries.

Free

Recent Acquisitions, Selected (updated monthly)

List of new books, videos, and government documents received by the UW Law Library this month. Arranged by legal subject.

Customized email delivery is also available through our Selected Recent Acquisitions Email Service.

.
On-campus / UW User Remote

Hein Online Legal Classics 1500s-1900s

Thousands of full text works from some of the greatest legal minds in history. In addition to many “classics” this collection also includes rare items that are found in only a handful of libraries around the world.

Law Building only

Bibliography of Early American Law 1600's - 1860

Abstracts of American legal literature published in this country or abroad, from its beginnings to the end of 1860.  It also includes works on foreign, comparative and international law published in America.

.
Free

Nineteenth Century Legal Treatises Index 1800s
Twentieth Century Legal Treatises Index Early 1900s

Two indexes to works relevant to legal theory and history printed in the United States and the United Kingdom during the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Indexes can be searched simultaneously.

On-campus / UW User Remote

LLMC Digital 1700s - to date

Full-text U.S. Federal and Canadian primary law from the Law Library Microform Consortium. Also contains selected Anglo-American legal treatises. Emphasis is on older materials.

 
Law building / Law user remote

Loislawschool.com Dates of Coverage Vary (updated daily)

Full-text primary law for most federal and state jurisdictions. Includes case law, statutes and acts, administrative codes and regulations, and court rules. Bar books, attorney general opinions and jury instructions are also available for some states.

Authorized Law School users may also request a password for access outside the Law building.

Search
Tips

Free

Wisconsin State Law Library Catalog 

Catalog of books and other materials owned by the State Law Library, the Dane County Law Library, and the Milwaukee Legal Resource Center.

 
Free

Marquette University Library Catalog

Catalog of books and other materials owned by Marquette University, including the Law Library.

 
Free

WI Legislative Reference Bureau, Theobald Legislative Library Catalog

Catalog of books and other materials owned by the Legislative Reference Bureau.

 

Theses & Dissertations
Law Building only

Index to Law School Theses and Dissertations  1887 - 1996

Index to graduate theses and dissertations produced at American law schools, including UW-Madison.

.
On-campus / UW User Remote

Dissertation Database Options

Chart containing sources of dissertations available electronically. Does not include law school theses and dissertations, although some law-related topics are available.

 

Free Free to Wisconsinites On-campus / UW User Remote Law building / Law user remote Law Building only Law Library only Password Required
Free for Everyone Free to Wisconsinites On-campus / UW User Remote Law Bldg / Law User Remote Law Building only Law Library only Password Required
For tips on constructing a search, see the E-Resources Connectors Table
Horizontal Rule

[Home]    [Information]    [Services]    [Faculty & Staff Services]    [E-Resources]   
[Guides]    [MadCat]    [UW Libraries]    [Law School]    [UW Madison]    [Site Search]
Horizontal  Rule
Web Master     Email Reference     Search Tips     About this Site

printer icon This page is printer-friendly

Horizontal Rule