Skip to Page Contents
Image of Gargoyle - UW Law School Mascot University of Wisconsin Law Library
Electronic Resources
Journal & News Articles
Navigation Bar Site Search UW Madison UW Law School UW Libraries MadCat Library Catalog Resource Guides Electronic Resources Library Services Library Information Home
General
Covering All Areas of Law
Specialized
Criminal Justice, Foreign Law,
Goverment, News, & Public Policy
Note: Individual journal titles should be accessed through MadCat

Want a Quick, Thorough Search?
Combine Indexes on Westlaw
Looking for Older Articles?
Use a Print Index
Article not Available Electronically?
Get it in Print

General
On-campus / UW User Remote

Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text & Retrospective 1908 - to date (updated daily)

Index to legal periodicals, court decisions, legislation and more. Full text coverage for selected periodicals is also available. Law books are indexed beginning in 1993. Covers all areas of law from the United States and Commonwealth countries.

On-campus / UW User Remote

Hein Online Law Journals Library From first volume to most current volume allowed under contract (updated daily)

Full-text legal periodicals beginning with the earliest volumes. Covers all areas of United States law. Requires Adobe Acrobat Reader.

On-campus / UW User Remote

LexisNexis Academic Dates of Coverage Vary (updated daily)

Full-text legal, news, reference, and business sources. Legal Research section contains United States federal and state case law and codes, as well as law reviews and legal news.

Law Library only

Westlaw Patron Access (Not available from this machine) Dates of Coverage Vary (updated hourly)

Extensive collection of full-text legal, news, reference, and business sources. Contains primary legal resources (cases, statutes, regulations, etc.) and secondary materials (journal articles, worldwide news, business sources, etc.). Content equivalent to lawschool.westlaw.com.

Note: Westlaw Patron Access is available without a password on the three computers labeled "Law Library Workstation" on the fifth floor of the Law Library.

On-campus / UW User Remote

JSTOR: Journal Storage Project Dates of Coverage Vary

Full-text back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, and other fields. Coverage begins with volume one of each title and ends about two to five years before the most recently published volume.

On-campus / UW User Remote

ProQuest Research Library 1988 - to date (updated daily)

Index to and full text general interest and academic journals that cover the arts, business, education, health, humanities, psychology, sciences, and the social sciences. It contains periodicals covering multicultural and women's issues and international affairs.

On-campus / UW User Remote

19th Century Masterfile, including Index to Legal Periodical Literature

Combination of indexes to nineteenth century journals and government publications. Includes Jones and Chipman's Index to Legal Periodical Literature (1786-1922), as well as other indexes to presidential papers, patents, & government publications. An English parlimentary history and index to debates is also included.

Password Required Legal Resource Index (a.k.a. LegalTrac) (updated daily)
 

Indexes scholarly and popular legal periodicals and newspapers, as well as selected law-related articles from other sources. Covers all areas of United States and some non-U.S. law. Abstracts and full-text are included for some articles.
.

  Available on LexisNexis
1977 - 1980 (selected); 1980 - to date (full)
(Library name is "LEXREF" and
file name is "LGLIND")
Available on Westlaw
1980 - to date
(Database ID is "LRI")
.
Password Required

LexisNexis (lawschool.lexis.com) Dates of Coverage Vary (updated hourly)

Extensive collection of full-text legal, news, reference, and business sources. Contains primary legal resources (cases, statutes, regulations, etc.) and secondary materials (journal articles, worldwide news, business sources, etc.).

For assistance with passwords, see LexisNexis & Westlaw Password Problem / Request Form. Passwords are issued to authorized Law School users only.

.
Password Required

Westlaw (lawschool.westlaw.com)-Dates of Coverage Vary (updated hourly)

Extensive collection of full-text legal, news, reference, and business sources. Contains primary legal resources (cases, statutes, regulations, etc.) and secondary materials (journal articles, worldwide news, business sources, etc.).

Note: A password is required to access lawschool.westlaw.com. Passwords are issued to authorized law school users only. Non law school users may use Westlaw Patron Access.

For assistance with passwords, see LexisNexis & Westlaw Password Problem / Request Form.

.
Law building / Law user remote

Current Index to Legal Periodicals (CILP)  Recent four months - to date

Citations to newly published law journal articles. Covers all areas of United States law. New issues are added weekly as they become available.

Customized email delivery is also available to UW Law School Faculty and Academic Staff through SmartCILP.

.
Free
A weekly compilation of the Tables of Contents for law periodicals received at the UW Law Library.
 
Law building / Law user remote

U.S. Law Week 1997 - to date (updated weekly)

Full-text articles, cases, and other supporting legal documents covering significant cases and key legislative / regulatory developments. Covers all areas of United States law.

All use of this resource is controlled by the UW Law School's BNA Academic Customer License Agreement.

Free

Legal Scholarship Network 1990's - to date

Abstracts of new and forthcoming legal scholarship. Some articles available in full-text. LSN is a division of the Social Science Research Network, which also includes articles on accounting, economics, and management.

Customized email delivery is also available to UW Law School Faculty and Academic Staff.

.
Free

University Law Review Project 1990's - to date

Full-text law journals freely available on the Internet. Search entire collection by keyword or browse journals by topic or law school. Covers all areas of U.S. law.

Customized email delivery of new law review and law journal article abstracts is also available through Findlaw's Abstract Notification Service.

.
Free

ALSO! Law Reviews & Periodicals 1990's - to date

Full-text law journals freely available on the Internet. Browse by journal title. Covers all areas of U.S. law.

 
Free to Wisconsinites

Badgerlink 1980's - to date (updated daily)

Full-text articles from general (including some legal) journals and newspapers.

On-campus / UW User Remote

Law Course Reserves Current Semester (updated daily)

Listing of reserve readings for law school courses. Some items are available electronically to UW Law School students.

 
On-campus / UW User Remote

UW Madison Libraries Electronic Journal List -Dates of Coverage Vary

List of full-text electronic journals and newspapers available at the UW Madison Libraries. Search or browse by title, then link to full-text. List includes dates of coverage.

 

Specialized
Law building / Law user remote
Legal Ethics

ABA/BNA Lawyers' Manual on Professional Conduct 1996 - to date (updated weekly)

Full-text articles, opinions, and other supporting legal documents relating to legal ethics, malpractice and other issues concerning the legal profession.

All use of this resource is controlled by the UW Law School's BNA Academic Customer License Agreement.

Search Tips
Law building / Law user remote
Antitrust
& Trade

Antitrust & Trade Regulation Report 1996 - to date (updated weekly)

Full-text articles, cases, and other supporting legal documents relating to competition and deceptive trade practices law. Covers federal, state, and international law.

All use of this resource is controlled by the UW Law School's BNA Academic Customer License Agreement.

Law building / Law user remote
Bankruptcy

Bankruptcy Law Reporter 1996 - to date (updated weekly)

Full-text articles, cases, and other supporting legal documents relating to federal and state criminal law.

All use of this resource is controlled by the UW Law School's BNA Academic Customer License Agreement.

On-campus / UW User Remote Business CCH Internet Research Network 1940s - to date (updated daily)

Full-text business and finance materials. Includes cases, statutes, and regulations as well as analytical materials in the following areas: Securities; Exchanges and SROs; Corporate Governance; International; Banking; Trade Regulation; Products Liability and Safety; Government Contracts; IP/IT; Federal Energy Guidelines; and Transportation Law.

Funding for this resource is provided by Corporate Practice Institute, Inc.

Search Tips
Law building / Law user remote
Communications

Communications Regulation (Pike & Fischer) 1964- to date (updated daily)

Full-text collection of legal and regulatory developments in communications law. Includes FCC rules, communications-related cases, case digests, notices, statutes, news articles, FCC Record, FCC Daily Digest, and Telecom Law Report newsletter.

All use of this resource is controlled by the UW Law School's P & F Academic Customer License Agreement.

Search Tips
On-campus / UW User Remote
Criminal Justice

Criminal Justice Abstracts 1968 - to date (updated daily)

Abstracts of journal articles, books, reports, and dissertations relating to criminal justice. Indexes United States and foreign publications.

Free
Criminal Justice

NCJRS Abstracts Database 1970's - to date (updated daily)

Abstracts of publications on criminal justice, including government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research. Compiled by the National Criminal Justice Reference Service. Includes some links to full-text.

Customized e-mail delivery of JUSTINFO, a bi-weekly newsletter of new NCJRS publications, is also available.

.
Law building / Law user remote
Criminal
Law

Criminal Law Reporter 1996 - to date (updated weekly)

Full-text articles, cases, and other supporting legal documents relating to federal and state criminal law.

All use of this resource is controlled by the UW Law School's BNA Academic Customer License Agreement.

Law building / Law user remote
Family Law

Family Law Reporter 1996 - to date (updated weekly)

Full-text articles, cases, and other supporting legal documents relating to federal and state family law.

All use of this resource is controlled by the UW Law School's BNA Academic Customer License Agreement.

On-campus / UW User Remote
Foreign & Inter-
national Law

Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals  1985 - to date (updated daily)

Index to world-wide legal literature on all forms of foreign (non-Angle-American) law. Covers foreign law, comparative law, and legal systems. Includes journal articles, reports, essays, yearbooks, and book reviews in a variety of languages.

Law building / Law user remote
Foreign & Inter-
national Law

International Trade Reporter 1996 - to date (updated weekly)

Full-text articles, cases, and other supporting legal documents relating to United States trade and international business law.

All use of this resource is controlled by the UW Law School's BNA Academic Customer License Agreement.

On-campus / UW User Remote
Govern-
ment

LexisNexis Government Periodicals Index 1980s - to date (updated daily)

Full-text articles from journals and newsletters published by United States agencies. Topics include law, business, science, medicine, history, finance, and more.

Law building / Law user remote
Labor Law

Labor & Employment Law Library Dates of Coverage Vary (updated weekly)

Full-text cases, statutes, regulations, manuals, news articles, and more relating to United States labor and employment law. Topics include fair employment practices, individual employment rights, Americans with disabilities, wages and hours, labor-management relations, collective bargaining, and labor arbitration.

All use of this resource is controlled by the UW Law School's BNA Academic Customer License Agreement.

Law building / Law user remote
Medical Law

Medical Research Law & Policy 1996 - to date (updated weekly)

Full-text articles, cases, legislation, regulations, and more relating to medical research law.

All use of this resource is controlled by the UW Law School's BNA Academic Customer License Agreement.

On-campus / UW User Remote
Military

Military and Government Collection 1961 - to date (updated daily)

Index and some full-text journals and pamphlets containing current news pertaining to all branches of the military.

 
On-campus / UW User Remote
News

Global NewsBank 1996 - to date (updated daily)

Full-text world-wide news articles from translated broadcasts, news agency transmissions, wire services, newspapers, magazines and government documents. All articles are in English.

On-campus / UW User Remote
News

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times 1851-2001

Complete full-text New York Times. Available in PDF format. More recent years are available through the ProQuest Newspapers database.

On-campus / UW User Remote
News

ProQuest Newspapers 1980s - to date (updated daily)

Index to national and Wisconsin newspapers. Full-text available for many articles.

Free to Wisconsinites
News

Wisconsin Newspapers 1960s - to date (updated daily)

Index to several Wisconsin newspapers including the Wisconsin State Journal from 1960s-1990s. Link leads to LINKcat, the Madison Public Library's online catalog. Select Newspapers from the bar across the top.

 
On-campus / UW User Remote
Political Science

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts 1975 - to date (updated monthly)

Index and abstracts of journals in political science and related fields, including international relations, law, public administration, and public policy.

On-campus / UW User Remote
Public
Policy

Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS) 1972 - to date

Index to world-wide literature concerning public policy, social policy, and the social sciences. Includes journal articles, books, government documents, statistical compilations, committee reports, directories, and more.

On-campus / UW User Remote Tax

CCH Tax Research Network

Full-text federal, state, and international tax information and materials. Includes legislation, reporters (Standard Federal Tax Reporter, Federal Tax Guide, state tax reporters, etc.), journals, treatises, and more.

 
Law building / Law user remote
Securities

Securities Regulation & Law Report 1996 - to date (updated weekly)

Full-text articles, cases, and other supporting legal documents relating to securities and futures trading, as well as accounting. Covers federal and state law.

All use of this resource is controlled by the UW Law School's BNA Academic Customer License Agreement.


Free Free to Wisconsinites On-campus / UW User Remote Law building / Law user remote Law Building only Law Library only Password Required
Free for Everyone Free to Wisconsinites On-campus / UW User Remote Law Bldg / Law User Remote Law Building only Law Library only Password Required
For tips on constructing a search, see the E-Resources Connectors Table
Horizontal Rule

[Home]    [Information]    [Services]    [Faculty & Staff Services]    [E-Resources]   
[Guides]    [MadCat]    [UW Libraries]    [Law School]    [UW Madison]    [Site Search]
Horizontal  Rule
Web Master     Email Reference     Search Tips     About this Site

printer icon This page is printer-friendly

Horizontal Rule