 |
ABA/BNA
Lawyers' Manual on Professional Conduct 1996 - to date (updated
weekly)
Full-text articles, opinions, and other supporting legal documents
relating to legal ethics, malpractice and other issues concerning
the legal profession.
All use of this resource is controlled by the UW Law School's
BNA Academic Customer License Agreement.
|
Search
Tips |
 |
AccessUN
1966 - to date (updated daily)
Index to United Nations documents
and publications, including treaties, official records, masthead
documents, draft resolutions, meeting records, and more. Some
full-text documents also available. For access to publications
before 1966, see Index to United Nations
Documents & Publications (available in Law Building
only).
|
|
 |
Antitrust
& Trade Regulation Report 1996 - to date (updated
weekly)
Full-text articles, cases, and other supporting
legal documents relating to competition and deceptive trade practices
law. Covers federal, state, and international law.
All use of this resource is controlled by the
UW Law School's BNA Academic Customer
License Agreement.
|
|
 |
Badgerlink
1980's - to date (updated daily)
Full-text articles from general (including some
legal) journals and newspapers.
|
|
 |
Bankruptcy
Law Reporter 1996 - to date (updated weekly)
Full-text articles, cases, and other supporting
legal documents relating to federal and state criminal law.
All use of this resource is controlled by the
UW Law School's BNA Academic Customer
License Agreement.
|
|
 |
Bibliography
of Early American Law 1600's - 1860
Abstracts of American legal literature published
in this country or abroad, from its beginnings to the end of 1860.
It also includes works on foreign, comparative and international
law published in America.
|
.
|
 |
BNA
Online Dates of Coverage Vary (updated weekly)
|
|
 |
Canadian
Abridgment, Case Digests Early 19th century - to date (updated
quarterly)
Summaries of Canadian case law by topic.
|
.
|
 |
Canadian
Abridgment, Encyclopedic Digest (updated quarterly)
- Encyclopedia of Canadian law arranged by
subject. Includes both Ontario and Western editions. Similar to
American Jurisprudence or Corpus Juris Secundum.
|
|
 |
Canadian
Abridgment, Statute Citations 1980 - to date (updated
quarterly)
- Canadian statutes judicially considered.
|
|
 |
CCH
Internet Research Network 1940s - to date (updated daily)
Full-text business and finance materials. Includes cases, statutes,
and regulations as well as analytical materials in the following
areas: Securities; Exchanges and SROs; Corporate Governance; International;
Banking; Trade Regulation; Products Liability and Safety; Government
Contracts; IP/IT; Federal Energy Guidelines; and Transportation
Law.
Funding for this resource is provided by Corporate Practice
Institute, Inc.
|
|
 |
CCH
Tax Research Network
Full-text federal, state, and international tax
information and materials. Includes legislation, reporters (Standard
Federal Tax Reporter, Federal Tax Guide, state tax reporters,
etc.), journals, treatises, and more.
|
|
 |
CELEX
(European Union Law) in LexisNexis Academic Dates of Coverage
Vary (updated daily)
Full-text European Union treaties, legislation,
preparatory acts (abstracts only), parliamentary questions, and
national provisions implementing directives. Most documents are
in English.
|
|
 |
Colonial
and American Indian Treaties: A Collection 1629-1865
A collection of major treaties between Native Americans and the
American colonies, and later the United States. Keyword search
or browse by date, region (state or tribe), and title.
|
|
 |
Communications
Regulation (Pike & Fischer) 1964- to date (updated
daily)
Full-text collection of legal and regulatory developments
in communications law. Includes FCC rules, communications-related
cases, case digests, notices, statutes, news articles, FCC
Record, FCC Daily Digest, and Telecom Law Report
newsletter.
All use of this resource is controlled by the
UW Law School's P & F Academic
Customer License Agreement.
|
Search
Tips |
 |
Congressional Universe
See LexisNexis Congressional
|
|
 |
Constitutions
of the World Online (Countries, Dependencies & Territories)
1215 - present
Current and historical English translations of
constitutions from countries, dependencies and territories around
the world. Includes expert commentary from leading scholars.
|
|
 |
Criminal
Justice Abstracts 1968 - to date (updated daily)
Abstracts of journal articles, books, reports,
and dissertations relating to criminal justice. Indexes United
States and foreign publications.
|
|
 |
Criminal
Law Reporter 1996 - to date (updated weekly)
Full-text articles, cases, and other supporting
legal documents relating to federal and state criminal law.
All use of this resource is controlled by the
UW Law School's BNA Academic Customer
License Agreement.
|
|
 |
Current
Contents
A compilation of the Tables of Contents
for law periodicals received at the UW Law Library.
|
|
 |
Current
Index to Legal Periodicals (CILP)
Recent four months - to date
Citations to newly published law journal articles.
Covers all areas of United States law.
New issues are added weekly as they become available.
Customized email delivery is also available
to UW Law School Faculty and Academic Staff through SmartCILP.
|
.
|
 |
Eighteenth
Century Collections Online 1700-1800
Full-text and images of every significant English-language and
foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom and in the
British colonies during the eighteenth century. Approximately
150,000 items are included. Subjects include: history, geography,
social sciences, fine arts, medicine, science, technology, literature
and language, law, and reference materials.
|
|
 |
Family
Law Reporter 1996 - to date (updated weekly)
Full-text articles, cases, and other supporting
legal documents relating to federal and state family law.
All use of this resource is controlled by the
UW Law School's BNA Academic Customer
License Agreement.
|
|
 |
Foreign
Law: Current Sources of Codes and Basic Legislation in Jurisdictions
Around the World (updated daily)
Concise descriptions of each country's legal
system, the main sources of law, the nature of the legal literature,
followed by a list of major laws and whether there is an English
translation.
|
.
|
 |
Global
NewsBank 1996 - to date (updated daily)
Full-text world-wide news articles from translated
broadcasts, news agency transmissions, wire services, newspapers,
magazines and government documents. All articles are in English.
|
|
 |
Government
Periodicals Universe
See LexisNexis Government Periodicals
Index
|
|
 |
Hein
Online (1220 - to date)
|
|
 |
Hein's
US Treaty Index on CD-ROM 1776 - to date (updated semiannually)
Index to United States treaties and other
international agreements. Includes a description of the agreement,
its status, amendments, and legislative history.
|
.
|
 |
Index
to Foreign Legal Periodicals 1985 - to date (updated daily)
Index to world-wide legal literature on
all forms of foreign (non-Angle-American) law. Covers foreign
law, comparative law, and legal systems. Includes
journal articles, reports, essays, yearbooks, and book reviews
in a variety of languages.
|
|
 |
Index
to Law School Theses and Dissertations 1887 - 1996
Index to graduate theses and dissertations produced
at American law schools, including UW-Madison.
|
.
|
 |
Index
to Legal Periodicals Full Text & Retrospective 1908 - to date
(updated daily)
Index to legal
periodicals, court decisions, legislation and more. Full text
coverage for selected periodicals is also available. Law books
are indexed beginning in 1993. Covers all areas of law from the
United States and Commonwealth countries.
|
|
 |
Index
to United Nations Documents and Publications 1946 - Dec. 2006
Index to United Nations documents
and publications. Includes some full-text materials. For indexing
of publications since 1966, see AccessUN
(available electronically campus-wide).
|
.
|
 |
Indlaw
1873 - to date
Searchable database of laws from India, including
judgments from the Supreme Court and High Courts, legislation
and rules, government notices, and other materials.
See reference librarian to access this database
|
|
 |
International
Legal Research in LexisNexis Academic Dates of Coverage Vary
(updated daily)
Full-text selected
case law and codes for the European Union, Australia, Canada,
Ireland, Hong Kong, Mexico, New Zealand, Singapore, Malaysia &
Brunei, South Africa, and the United Kingdom.
|
|
 |
International
Trade Reporter 1996 - to date (updated weekly)
Full-text articles, cases, and other supporting
legal documents relating to United States trade and international
business law.
All use of this resource is controlled by the
UW Law School's BNA Academic Customer
License Agreement.
|
|
 |
ISI
Emerging Markets, Russia Dates of Coverage Vary (updated
daily)
Full-text Russian business intelligence resource
in Russian and English. Includes company news & financials,
industry profiles, and macroeconomic reports. Also contains legal
news and laws, including Kodeks Law Database (Russian) and Garant
Law Database (English).
| |
 |
JSTOR:
Journal Storage Project Dates of Coverage Vary
Full-text back issues of selected scholarly
journals in history, economics, political science, and other fields.
Coverage begins with volume one of each title and ends about two
to five years before the most recently published volume.
|
|
 |
KeyCite via Westlaw Patron Access
(Not available from this machine) Dates of Coverage Vary (updated hourly)
Citation research service used to determine whether
a case, statute, administrative decision, or federal regulation
is good law and to find cases and other sources that cite it.
|
|
 |
Labor
& Employment Law Library Dates of Coverage Vary (updated
weekly)
Full-text cases, statutes, regulations, manuals,
news articles, and more relating to United States labor and employment
law. Topics include fair employment practices, individual employment
rights, Americans with disabilities, wages and hours, labor-management
relations, collective bargaining, and labor arbitration.
All use of this resource is controlled by the
UW Law School's BNA Academic Customer
License Agreement.
|
|
 |
The
Law Practice of Abraham Lincoln 1836-1861
Original documents from Lincoln's law practice,
including facts about cases and non litigation activities handled
by Lincoln and his law partners.
|
.
|
 |
LawInfoChina
1949 - to date (updated daily)
A nearly comprehensive collection of Chinese laws
and regulations dating back to 1949. Coverage for cases is selective.
Nearly all of the content is available in both English and Chinese;
a few items are in Chinese only.
|
|
 |
The
Lawyer's Reference Shelf 1999 Edition
Full-text of A Dictionary of Modern
Legal Usage, Second Edition and The Oxford Dictionary
of American Legal Quotations.
|
.
|
 |
League
of Wisconsin Municipalities Legal Opinions and Manuals (updated
annually)
Summaries of all League opinions and full-text
opinions since 1975. Also includes several of the League's manuals
and conference papers.
|
.
|
 |
Legal
Dockets Online (updated daily)
Legal Dockets Online is a portal featuring an extensive collection
of links to free and fee-based sources of court dockets for federal,
state, and local courts. Other court documents (opinions, orders,
etc) and criminal record databases are linked when available.
|
|
 |
Legal
Resource Index (a.k.a. LegalTrac) (updated daily)
| |
Index to scholarly
and popular legal periodicals and newspapers, as well as selected
law-related articles from other sources. Covers
all areas of United States and some non-U.S. law. Abstracts
and full-text are included for some articles.
. |
| |
Available on LexisNexis
1977 - 1980 (selected); 1980 - to date (full)
(Library name is "LEXREF" and
file name is "LGLIND") |
Available on Westlaw
1980 - to date
(Database ID is "LRI") |
|
.
|
 |
Legal
Scholarship Network 1990's - to date
Abstracts of
new and forthcoming legal scholarship. Some articles available
in full-text. LSN is a division of the Social Science Research
Network, which also includes articles on accounting,
economics, and management.
Customized email delivery is also available
to UW Law School Faculty and Academic Staff.
|
.
|
 |
LexisNexis
(lawschool.lexis.com) Dates of Coverage Vary (updated hourly)
Extensive collection of full-text legal,
news, reference, and business sources.
Contains primary legal
resources (cases, statutes, regulations, etc.) and secondary materials
(journal articles, worldwide news, business sources, etc.).
For assistance with
passwords, see LexisNexis
& Westlaw Password Problem / Request Form. Passwords are
issued to authorized Law School users only.
|
.
|
 |
LexisNexis
Academic Dates of Coverage Vary (updated daily)
Full-text legal, news, reference,
and business sources. Legal Research
section contains United States federal and state case law and
codes, as well as law reviews and legal news.
Note: LexisNexis Academic
does not offer Shepards citation research service. However,
an alternate citator is available at the Law Library without a
password via KeyCite.
|
|
 |
LexisNexis
Congressional 1789 - to date (updated daily)
Index to publications of the United States
Congress since 1789 and some full-text documents beginning in
the late 1980s. Includes bills & acts, committee reports,
testimony, regulations, legislative histories, and more.
|
|
 |
LexisNexis
Government Periodicals Index 1980s - to date (updated daily)
Full-text articles from journals
and newsletters published by United States agencies. Topics include
law, business, science, medicine, history, finance, and more.
|
|
 |
LexisNexis
Statistical 1950s - to date (updated daily)
Index to and selected full-text
U.S. statistical data. Includes contents of the American Statistics
Index (ASI), Statistical Reference Index (SRI), and
Index to International Statistics (IIS).
|
|
 |
LLMC
Digital 1700s - to date
Full-text U.S. Federal and Canadian primary law
from the Law Library Microform Consortium. Emphasis is on older
materials.
|
|
 |
Loislawschool.com
Dates of Coverage Vary (updated daily)
Full-text primary law for most federal and
state jurisdictions. Includes case law, statutes and acts, administrative
codes and regulations, and court rules. Bar books, attorney general
opinions and jury instructions are also available for some states.
Authorized Law School users may also request
a password for access outside the Law building.
|
|
 |
MadCat
Library Catalog (updated daily)
Catalog of books, journals, and other materials
owned by the UW-Madison Libraries.
|
|
 |
Medical
Research Law & Policy 1996 - to date (updated weekly)
Full-text articles, cases, legislation, regulations,
and more relating to medical research law.
All use of this resource is controlled by the
UW Law School's BNA Academic Customer
License Agreement.
|
|
 |
Military
and Government Collection 1961 - to date (updated daily)
Index and some full-text journals and pamphlets
containing current news pertaining to all branches of the military.
|
|
 |
NCJRS
Abstracts Database 1970's - to date (updated daily)
Abstracts of publications on criminal
justice, including government reports, books, research reports,
journal articles, and unpublished research. Compiled by the
National Criminal Justice Reference Service. Includes some
links to full-text.
Customized e-mail delivery of
JUSTINFO, a
bi-weekly newsletter of new NCJRS publications, is also available.
|
.
|
 |
Nineteenth
Century Legal Treatises Index 1800s
Twentieth
Century Legal Treatises Index Early 1900s
Two indexes to works relevant to legal theory
and history printed in the United States and the United Kingdom
during the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Indexes can
be searched simultaneously.
|
|
 |
19th
Century Masterfile, including Index to Legal Periodical Literature
Combination of indexes to nineteenth century journals
and government publications. Includes Jones and Chipman's Index
to Legal Periodical Literature (1786-1922), as well as other
indexes to presidential papers, patents, & government publications.
An English parliamentary history and index to debates is also
included.
|
|
 |
One
Source Dates of Coverage Vary (updated daily)
The OneSource Global Business Browser provides
robust intelligence on over 16 million U.S. and Canadian firms
as well as the top 100,000 international companies and 50,000
subsidiaries and branches of multinational companies located in
developing countries. The database also includes over 18 million
executive decision makers, company and industry analysts’
reports and hundreds of industries.
|
|
 |
ProQuest
Historical Newspapers: New York Times 1851-2001
Complete full-text New York Times. Available in
PDF format. More recent years are available through the ProQuest
Newspapers database.
|
|
 |
ProQuest
Newspapers 1980s - to date (updated daily)
Index to national and Wisconsin newspapers. Full-text
available for many articles.
|
|
 |
ProQuest
Research Library 1988 - to date (updated daily)
Index to and full text general interest and academic
journals that cover the arts, business, education, health, humanities,
psychology, sciences, and the social sciences. It contains periodicals
covering multicultural and women's issues and international affairs.
|
|
 |
Public
Affairs Information Service (PAIS) 1972 - to date
Index to world-wide literature concerning public
policy, social policy, and the social sciences. Includes journal
articles, books, government documents, statistical compilations,
committee reports, directories, and more.
|
|
 |
Recent
Acquisitions, Selected (updated monthly)
List of new books, videos, and government documents
received by the UW Law Library this month. Arranged by legal subject.
Customized email delivery is also available
through our Selected Recent
Acquisitions Email Service.
|
.
|
 |
RIA
Checkpoint 1950s - to date (updated daily)
Full-text tax and accounting materials. Includes
the complete federal tax code, regulations, committee reports,
and rulings. Also contains the Federal Tax Coordinator,
U.S. Tax Reporter, Federal Tax Handbook, a news/current
awareness section, as well as state tax cases, rulings, and legislation.
|
|
 |
Securities
Regulation & Law Report 1996 - to date (updated weekly)
Full-text articles, cases, and other supporting
legal documents relating to securities and futures trading, as
well as accounting. Covers federal and state law.
All use of this resource is controlled by the
UW Law School's BNA Academic Customer
License Agreement.
|
|
 |
Statistical
Universe
See LexisNexis Statistical
|
|
 |
United
Nations Master Treaty Index on CD-ROM 1946 (1 UNTS 3) - to date
(updated semiannually)
Index to Category I and II
treaties and other international agreements published in the United
Nations Treaty Series (UNTS). Also indexes treaties filed
with the Secretariat but not yet published (NYP) in the UNTS.
|
.
|
 |
United
Nations Treaty Collection 1996 - to date
United Nations bilateral and multilateral treaties
in full text as published in the United Nations Treaty Series
(UNTS). Also contains some multilateral treaties not yet appearing
un UNTS. Treaties available in their authentic language(s), along
with a translation into English and French, as appropriate.
|
|
 |
University
Law Review Project 1990's - to date
Full-text law
journals freely available on the Internet. Search entire collection
by keyword or browse journals by topic or law school. Covers all
areas of U.S. law.
Customized email delivery of new law review
and law journal article abstracts is also available through Findlaw's
Abstract Notification Service.
|
.
|
 |
U.S.
Law Week 1997 - to date (updated weekly)
Full-text articles, cases, and other supporting
legal documents covering significant cases and key legislative
/ regulatory developments. Covers all areas of United States law.
All use of this resource is controlled by the
UW Law School's BNA Academic Customer
License Agreement.
|
|
 |
UW
Madison Libraries Electronic Journal List -Dates
of Coverage Vary
List of full-text electronic journals and newspapers
available at the UW Madison Libraries. Search or browse by title,
then link to full-text. List includes dates of coverage.
|
|
| |
VersusLaw
Dates of Coverage Vary (updated daily)
Full-text federal, state, and Native American
tribal court opinions.
Passwords are issued to authorized Law School
users only. Complete the online
registration form.
|
Search
Tips |
 |
Westlaw
(lawschool.westlaw.com)-Dates of
Coverage Vary (updated hourly)
Extensive collection of full-text legal,
news, reference, and business sources.
Contains primary legal
resources (cases, statutes, regulations, etc.) and secondary materials
(journal articles, worldwide news, business sources, etc.).
Note: A password is required
to access lawschool.westlaw.com. Passwords are issued to authorized
law school users only. Non law school users may use Westlaw
Patron Access.
For assistance with passwords, see LexisNexis
& Westlaw Password Problem / Request Form.
|
.
|
 |
Westlaw Patron Access
(Not available from this machine) Dates of Coverage Vary (updated hourly)
Extensive collection of full-text
legal, news, reference, and business sources.
Contains primary legal
resources (cases, statutes, regulations, etc.) and secondary materials
(journal articles, worldwide news, business sources, etc.). Content
equivalent to lawschool.westlaw.com.
Note: Westlaw Patron Access
is available without a password on the three computers labeled
"Law Library Workstation" on the fifth floor of the
Law Library.
|
|
 |
WisBlawg,
From the UW Law Library (updated daily)
Blog offering legal research and Internet news
& information with an emphasis on Wisconsin. Authored by UW
Law Librarians.
|
|
 |
Wisconsin
Briefs Beginning with 173 Wis. 2d (1992)
Full-text briefs for Wisconsin Supreme Court
and Court of Appeals published and unpublished cases.
For briefs covering cases reported in
Wisconsin Reports vol. 9 (1858) to vol. 275 (1957), see the Wisconsin
Briefs Finding Guide.
|
|
 |
Wisconsin
Legislative Drafting Records 1999/2000 - 2005/2006 Sessions
Written materials, letters, and memoranda given
to or created by the legislative drafting attorney in the process
of drafting a bill, resolution, or subsequent amendments. May
provide some insight into the meaning of statutory language.
|
|
 |
Wisconsin
Public Employment Decisions Digest 1976- 1998
Summaries of Wisconsin decisions involving
the Municipal Employment Relations
Act and State Employment Labor Relations Act.
|
.
|
 |
WorldCat
Library Catalog (updated daily)
Catalog of millions of books, journals, and other
materials owned by libraries around the world, including UW-Madison
and the Library of Congress.
|
|
 |
WorldTradeLaw.net's
Dispute Settlement Commentary Service Dates of Coverage Vary (updated
daily)
A comprehensive legal research tool for WTO dispute settlement.
Features include summary/analysis of all reports/arbitrations;
up-to-date keyword index; and a database of dispute settlement
tables/statistics.
All use of this resource is controlled by WorldTradeLaw.net
LLC's Disclaimer
& Terms of Use.
|
|
 |
Worldwide
Political Science Abstracts 1975 - to date (updated monthly)
Index and abstracts of journals in political science
and related fields, including international relations, law, public
administration, and public policy.
|
|