Sort
Access Type
Anyone Anywhere
UW Madison users Anywhere
Anyone in Wisconsin
UW Law users Anywhere
Anyone in Law Library
Subject Type
Administrative Law
Bankruptcy
Business Organizations & Corporations
Children & Family Law
Civil Procedure
Communications Law
Constitutional Law
Contracts
Criminal Law & Procedure
Education Law
Environmental Law
Estate Planning
Federal Government Law
Foreign, International & Comparative Law
General
Health & Medicine
Human Rights
Immigration Law
Intellectual Property
Judicial Systems, Courts & Judges
Jurisprudence & Legal History
Labor & Employment
Land Use & Urban Development
Law & Economics
Law, Politics & Society
Lawyering & the Practice of Law
Legal Research
Legislation
Local Government Law
Native Peoples
Property
Taxation
Trial & Trial Practice
Databases and Electronic Resources

Legal ResearchBack To Top
Coverage 1923 to present
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
The American Law Institute Library is home to a range of scholarly work that examines and clarifies the law, as annotated and written by a collection of judges and lawyers. The library includes Restatements, model statutes, principles of the law, Uniform Commerical Code and many more. Users can search by title, keyword, subject or across all the titles. More » Less «
Coverage to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Bluebook (A Uniform System of Citation) abbreviations for legal journals. For additional abbreviations, see also Prince's Bieber Dictionary of Legal Abbreviations and table 13 in the Bluebook. More » Less «
Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
The BrowZine app (available for IOS and Android tablets and phones) works by organizing the articles found in Open Access and subscription databases, uniting them into complete journals, then arranging these journals on a common newsstand. The result is an easy and familiar way to browse, read and monitor scholarly journals across the disciplines. More » Less «
Coverage to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Abbreviations for English language legal publications, from the British Isles, the Commonwealth and the United States, including those covering international and comparative law. Cardiff's is useful for interpreting legal citations. More » Less «
Coverage to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Guide to creating and managing citations in the Bluebook format. More » Less «
Coverage 1754 to present (Updated daily)
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Provided by the Free Law Project, Court Listener contains millions of legal opinions from federal and state courts as well as oral arguments, profiles, links to case authorities and more. Researchers can search RECAP, a collection of archived and freely available PACER documents and dockets. More » Less «
Coverage 1990 to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Maintained by the University of North Texas and the Government Printing Office, this site archives government websites that are now defunct or ceased operation. The agencies archived are broad in scope and have most of their original links working. More » Less «
(Updated monthly)
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Data death penalty laws, statistics practices in the 93 countries and territories that retain capital punishment. Includes references to relevant legislation, documents from governmental and international organizations, and other primary and secondary sources. More » Less «
Coverage to 2000
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
Provides basic vocabulary used in British and American law, with examples which show the words and phrases used in context. More » Less «
Access: Anyone Anywhere
Open source collection of institutional repositories from across the United States, including faculty scholarship, law review articles and conference proceedings. The network may be searched in specific areas of law, such as administrative law or constitutional law. More » Less «
(Updated daily)
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
Environment & Energy Publishing (E&E) is the leading source for comprehensive, daily coverage of environmental and energy policy and markets. E&E's five daily online publications are considered "must-reads" by people who track and influence energy, environmental and climate policy. The subscription includes access to: EnergyWire, ClimateWire, E&E Daily, Greenwire and E&ENews PM. Key areas covered by E&E's reporters and editors: U.S. federal legislation, U.S. environmental regulation and federal agencies, International and U.S. climate policy issues, Global energy resources and markets, Unconventional energy (fracking, deep water, etc.), Electric utilities, Alternative energy, Air and water issues, Hazardous and toxic substances, Public lands, Endangered species, Mining and agriculture, Technology. More » Less «
Coverage to present (Updated daily)
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Got Track allows researchers to more easily create legislative histories by tracking bills of interest. More » Less «
Coverage to 2003
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Guide to legal materials for non-lawyers published by the Law Librarians Association of Wisconsin. More » Less «
Coverage to 2007
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
An easy to use legal dictionary, with cross references for many terms. More » Less «
Coverage to 1999 edition
 - Access: Anyone in Law Library
Provides full-text access to the Dictionary of Modern Legal Usage 2d edition and The Oxford Dictionary of American Legal Quotations. CD-ROM database available on Law Library computers 1,2, and 4. More » Less «
Coverage 1891 to varies
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
The source of more than 250 Uniform Acts, the National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws (NCCUSL) has drafted and proposed acts in subjects areas such as commercial law, real estate, alternate dispute resolution, domestic relations law, adoption, arbitration, deceptive trade practices, healthcare and more. This collection contains the archives of the NCCUSL, scholarly articles on Uniform Laws, related works and a biblliography. More » Less «
Coverage to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
A dictionary containing plain English definitions for hundreds of legal terms. More » Less «
Coverage 1776 to present
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
Includes full text of current and historical United States state constitutions. Also includes the Oxford Commentaries on the State Constitutions of the US More » Less «
Coverage 1981 to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Regulations from Federal agencies are tracked, categorized and made searchable on this government-funded site. Other tools include a reg map that lays out how regulations are processed, historical reports and regulatory plans. More » Less «
Coverage to present (Updated daily)
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Regulations.gov is your source for information on the development of Federal regulations and other related documents issued by the U.S. government. Through this site, you can find, read, and comment on regulatory issues that are important to you. On Regulations.gov, you can find and comment on proposed regulations and related documents published by the U.S. Federal government. You can also find:Final Regulations, Notices, Scientific and Technical Findings, Guidance, Adjudications, Comments Submitted by Others, and The Unified Agenda and Regulatory Plan. More » Less «
Coverage to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
This guide is created to help legal researchers locate and organize material for scholarly legal research & writing projects, law review articles, student notes & seminar papers. More » Less «
Coverage 1989 to present (Updated daily)
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
The purpose of TRAC is to provide the American people, including lawyers, with comprehensive information about staffing, spending, and enforcement activities of the federal government. Search through data collected via the Freedom of Information Act and then checked for accuracy. The resulting statistics provide background on Federal spending, government policies and more. More » Less «

Log in to edit