Sort
Access Type
Anyone Anywhere
UW Madison users Anywhere
Anyone in Wisconsin
UW Law users Anywhere
Anyone in Law Library
Subject Type
Administrative Law
Bankruptcy
Business Organizations & Corporations
Children & Family Law
Civil Procedure
Communications Law
Constitutional Law
Contracts
Criminal Law & Procedure
Education Law
Environmental Law
Estate Planning
Federal Government Law
Foreign, International & Comparative Law
General
Health & Medicine
Human Rights
Immigration Law
Intellectual Property
Judicial Systems, Courts & Judges
Jurisprudence & Legal History
Labor & Employment
Land Use & Urban Development
Law & Economics
Law, Politics & Society
Lawyering & the Practice of Law
Legal Research
Legislation
Local Government Law
Native Peoples
Property
Taxation
Trial & Trial Practice
Databases and Electronic Resources

Coverage to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
A guide for beginning law students about the UW Law School, skills, courses, faculty, textbooks, studying, exams, library access, and technology. More » Less «
Access: Anyone Anywhere
The collateral consequences of a criminal conviction - legal sanctions and restrictions imposed upon people because of their criminal records - are hard to find and harder to understand. This database, created by the National Institute of Justice to collect and study collateral consequences in all U.S. jurisdictions, will make analyzing the results of collateral consequences. Search by state, federal or keyword. More » Less «
Coverage 1915 to present
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
This collection digitizes ABA Law Library Collection Periodicals, along with 45 periodicals previously only available to ABA section members. It provides access to current volumes of included periodicals and covers all subject areas of American law. More » Less «
Coverage to 1984 (Updated daily)
 - Access: Anyone in Wisconsin
Index to magazines and journals from every academic discipline. Many articles available in full-text. More » Less «
Coverage to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Gateway to administrative actions outside the scope of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) and the Federal Register. More » Less «
Coverage to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
A compilation of links to freely accessible sources of law for the US, Canada and Mexico. Also contains links to sources of commentary and practice aids. More » Less «
(Updated daily)
 - Access: UW Law users Anywhere
American Lawyer is a leading source of legal news covering law firms, legal business and lawyers from across the U.S. and around the world. Includes the Am Law 100, The Global 100, The A-List and the Am Law 200. Law School users can sign up for e-alerts by clicking on Sign In. After signing in with your LexisNexis Advance password, click on My Account. More » Less «
Coverage 1789 to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
A collection of presidential papers, remarks, speeches, executives orders and more starting with George Washington up to the present day. Over 100,000 documents can be searched by year, keyword or president. More » Less «
Access: Anyone Anywhere
Android Apps for Legal Professionals More » Less «
Coverage 2005 to 60 days ago
 - Access: Anyone in Wisconsin
A collection of more than 200 daily and weekly Wisconsin newspapers. Newspapers are searchable and are included cover to cover in PDF format. Titles include the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel, Wisconsin State Journal, Capital Times, Badger Herald, Daily Cardinal, Isthmus, and Madison Times, among others. More » Less «
Coverage 2008 to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Selected reports from the Congressional Research Service (CRS), the public policy research arm of the United States Congress. CRS Reports are issue reports that provide detailed reports to members of congress. More » Less «
Coverage Pre-18th Century to present (Updated daily)
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
ArchiveGrid includes over three million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. With over 1,000 different archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies throughout the world. Includes records for items dating back to thousands of years B.C.E. to the present day. More » Less «
Coverage 1980s to present (Updated daily)
 - Access: Anyone in Wisconsin
Full-text articles from general (including some legal) journals and newspapers. More » Less «
Coverage 1898 to present
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
Contains more than 100 state and local Bar Journals. You can search by article title, author, description, date, or across the full text of the articles. More » Less «
Coverage Current calendar year to present (Updated daily)
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Index of state bills for the current calendar year. Includes bill tracking history and some full text bills. More » Less «
Coverage 1989 to present (Updated daily)
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Full-text of U.S. Congressional bills, bill tracking, and resolutions. More » Less «
Coverage to Coverage varies (Updated weekly)
 - Access: UW Law users Anywhere
Formerly known as BNA Online, Bloomberg BNA is a leading source of legal, regulatory, and business information for professionals. Its network of more than 2,500 reporters, correspondents, and leading practitioners delivers expert analysis, news, practice tools, and guidance. Bloomberg BNA More » Less «
Coverage to present (Updated weekly)
Exclusive provider of online CLE Books from the State Bar of Wisconsin (the "brown binders"). More » Less «
Coverage 1987 to present (Updated daily)
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Videos and transcripts of C-Span programs. Includes public affairs programming, Congressional proceedings, news conferences, BookTV non-fiction author talks and interviews, and more. More » Less «
Coverage 1996 to present (Updated annually)
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the executive departments and agencies of the Federal Government. More » Less «
Coverage 1938 to present (Updated monthly)
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
Comprehensive coverage of the CFR from its inception. More » Less «
Coverage to present (Updated annually)
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
This version of the CFR offers excellent search and navigation features as well as crossreferences to external sources such as the U.S. Code and Federal Register pages that update a CFR section. More » Less «
Coverage 1938 to 1995
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register. This site covers the years 1938-1995 and is fully browsable and downloadable. More » Less «
Coverage to present (Updated daily)
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Online access to the Code of Federal Regulations. More » Less «
Coverage 1992 to present (Updated daily)
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
The official publication of presidential statements, messages, remarks, and other materials released by the White House Press Secretary. Contains both the daily and superceded weekly compilations. More » Less «
Coverage 1993 to present (Updated daily)
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Full-text of U.S. Congressional bills and resolutions. More » Less «
Coverage 1987 to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Browse the current catalog of Congressional Committee Prints. More » Less «
Coverage 1992 to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
U.S. Congressional committee reports. More » Less «
Coverage 1824 to 2016 (Updated daily)
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
Published and unpublished hearings from U.S. Congressional committee hearings proceedings. All hearings contain the full transcripts of the proceedings, including all oral statements, committee questions, and discussion. Published hearings also contain texts of related reports, statistical analyses, correspondence, exhibits, and articles presented by witnesses or inserted into the record by committee members and staff. For more recent hearings, see FDsys. More » Less «
Coverage 1989 to present (Updated daily)
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
The official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. Note that this is the daily edition - See Fdsys for bound edition citations. More » Less «
Coverage 1789 to present (Updated daily)
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
The official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress back to 1789. Includes both daily and bound editions of the Congressional Record, as well as its predecessor titles: the Congressional Globe, the Register of Debates, and the Annals of Congress. More » Less «
Coverage 1998 to present (Updated daily)
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
The official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. Note that this is the bound edition - Congressional Record citations may be to the daily edition. The primary ways in which the bound edition differs from the daily edition are continuous pagination; somewhat edited, revised, and rearranged text; and the dropping of the prefixes H, S, and E before page numbers. More » Less «
Coverage 1994 to present (Updated daily)
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
The official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. Note that this is the daily edition - Congressional Record citations may be to the bound edition. More » Less «
Coverage 1916 to present
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
CRS Reports are designed to give nonpartisian research and analysis to members of Congress and other Congressional Staff. The CRS reports cover a wide range of topics and play a crucial role in providing information to lawmakers. The CRS reports are fully searchable and downloadlable. More » Less «
Access: Anyone Anywhere
A listing of county government offices in the United States such as county assessor, board of elections, chamber of commerce, child support offices, colleges, coroner, courts, and more. More » Less «
Coverage to Last four months (Updated weekly)
 - Access: UW Law users Anywhere
Citations to newly published law journal articles covering all areas of United States law. More » Less «
Coverage 2000 to May-11
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Index of law journal tables of contents with links to full articles. Includes customized alerts by email and RSS. Updating of CLJC ceased in May 2011 but existing indexing will remain searchable. More » Less «
Access: Anyone Anywhere
The DCLRC is a law library which provides a variety of legal information services to both the local legal community and the general public. It is located in the Dane County Courthouse. More » Less «
Coverage 1930s to present
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
Formerly Proquest Statistical Datasets. Provides access to statistical information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, states, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. Enables researchers to build statistical tables and charts from multiple sources in a single interface. More » Less «
Access: Anyone Anywhere
Open source collection of institutional repositories from across the United States, including faculty scholarship, law review articles and conference proceedings. The network may be searched in specific areas of law, such as administrative law or constitutional law. More » Less «
(Updated daily)
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
Environment & Energy Publishing (E&E) is the leading source for comprehensive, daily coverage of environmental and energy policy and markets. E&E's five daily online publications are considered "must-reads" by people who track and influence energy, environmental and climate policy. The subscription includes access to: EnergyWire, ClimateWire, E&E Daily, Greenwire and E&ENews PM. Key areas covered by E&E's reporters and editors: U.S. federal legislation, U.S. environmental regulation and federal agencies, International and U.S. climate policy issues, Global energy resources and markets, Unconventional energy (fracking, deep water, etc.), Electric utilities, Alternative energy, Air and water issues, Hazardous and toxic substances, Public lands, Endangered species, Mining and agriculture, Technology. More » Less «
Access: Anyone Anywhere
Access to every currently loaded Congressional Research Service (CRS) Report in Congress's internal website. EveryCRSReport.com contains over 8,200 reports, but will continue to grow. Revision histories of updated CRS reports are also included. Users can search via topical browsing or keyword searching and can get updates from email alerts or RSS feeds. More » Less «
Coverage to present (Updated daily)
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Executive, legislative and judicial materials from the United States Government Printing Office. Includes the Federal Register, Congressional Record, U.S. Code, U.S. Statutes at Large, Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Budgets, Congressional bills, hearings, committee prints, and more. FDsys has replaced GPO Access. More » Less «
Coverage to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Directory of Federal Government Agencies from USA.Gov. More » Less «
Coverage 1994 to present (Updated daily)
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
The Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents. More » Less «
Coverage 1938 to present (Updated daily)
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
Comprehensive coverage of the Federal Register from its inception. More » Less «
Coverage 1936 to 1993
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
The Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents. This free site provides access to the years 1936-1993 and is fully browsable and downloadable. More » Less «
Coverage 1973 to present
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
International law publications, including prominent Yearbooks from around the world and proceedings of the American Society of International Law. Also contains U.S. law digests on international law and judicial decisions of the Hague Permanent Court of International Justice. More » Less «
Coverage 1861 to 1988
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
The Foreign Relations of the United States series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. Before the current title was adopted, this series was formerly known as Papers Relating to the Foreign Relations of the United States and Foreign Relations of the United States: Diplomatic Papers. More » Less «
Coverage to present (Updated daily)
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Federal civil, criminal, and bankruptcy court dockets, as well as dockets from the US Supreme Court, Court of Claims, and Court of International Trade. More » Less «
Coverage to present (Updated daily)
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
See FDsys - The Government Printing Office has transitioned their government information website from GPO Access to FDsys (Federal Digital System). More » Less «
Coverage 1800s to present
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
Single search interface for newspapers in the Gale newspapers archives including: 17th-18th C. Burney Collection, 19th C. British Library Newspapers Pt. I, 19th C. U.S. Newspapers, Economist Historical Archive, Illustrated London News, Times (of London) Digital Archive, Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive. More » Less «
Coverage 1969 to present (Updated quarterly)
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
The Gargoyle is University of Wisconsin Law School's alumni newsletter. More » Less «
Coverage to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Guide to universal borrowing and interlibrary loan requesting at the UW Law Library. More » Less «
Coverage to present (Updated daily)
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Search engine for full text general and legal books. Books in the public domain are available in "full view" and free for download. For in-print books, Google limits the number of viewable pages. More » Less «
Coverage 1776 to present (Updated daily)
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Search engine for federal and state court opinions, as well as scholarly articles, theses and books. More » Less «
Coverage to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
This is a selective list of major document titles or series currently received by the University of Wisconsin Law Library. More » Less «
Coverage to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
The digitized collection, Hathi Trust, includes the CIC libraries (Big Ten) and the University of California System. Full-text of works that are out of copyright or in the public domain are available for viewing or searching. The items are also in Google books but have greater availability and searchability. More » Less «
Coverage 1220 to present (Updated daily)
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
Full-text legal periodicals, historical texts, foreign & international materials, and primary legal materials in PDF, including the Federal Register, U.S. Statutes at Large, U.S. Reports & attorney general opinions, state session laws, and more. More » Less «
Coverage 1985 to present
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
Index to world-wide legal literature on all forms of foreign law. Covers foreign law, comparative law, and legal systems. Includes journal articles, reports, essays, yearbooks, and book reviews in a variety of languages. More » Less «
Coverage 1887 to 2006
 - Access: Anyone in Law Library
Index to graduate theses and dissertations produced at American law schools, including UW-Madison. CD-ROM database available on Law Library computers 1,2 and 4. More » Less «
Coverage 1908 to present
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
Index to legal periodicals, court decisions, legislation and more. Full text coverage for selected periodicals is also available. Law books are indexed beginning in 1993. Covers all areas of law from the United States and Commonwealth countries. More » Less «
Coverage 1946 to 2006
 - Access: Anyone in Law Library
Index to United Nations documents and publications. Includes some full-text materials. Subscription cancelled in 2006. CD-ROM database available on Law Library computers 1,2, and 4. More » Less «
Coverage 1786 to 1922
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
Jones & Chipman was the first index that attempted to provide a comprehensive and systematic index to English language legal periodicals. It is available in Series 1 of the 19th Century Masterfile. More » Less «
Coverage to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
English texts and background materials about constitutions and other constitutional documents worldwide. Also includes access to the German Case Law Project (GLAW), in German, sometimes with a brief English translation. Features extensive links to national constitutional courts, and to other sources of legal (especially international and constitutional) law on the Internet. More » Less «
Coverage 1946 to present (Updated daily)
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Contains information about the Court, including its history, role, functioning, jurisdiction, finances, and biographical information on its judges, with photographs. Provides access to complete texts of the United Nations Charter, the Statute of the Court, and ICJ current press releases. Includes all cases brought before the Court. More » Less «
Coverage Coverage varies to present
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
Selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, and other fields. Coverage begins with volume one of each title and ends about two to five years before the most recently published volume. More » Less «
Coverage Jan-04 to present (Updated daily)
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Case information from the U.S. Federal District Courts. Some cases also include opinions, orders, and other filings. More » Less «
Coverage 1700s to present
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
Case law, legislation, regulations and other materials from the U.S. (federal, states, military, Native American), Canada, UK and other foreign countries. Coverage is especially good for older materials, although some newer content is available including California Records and Briefs. More » Less «
Coverage 1788 to present (Updated daily)
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
Legal periodicals in PDF beginning with the earliest volumes. More » Less «
(Updated daily)
 - Access: UW Law users Anywhere
Daily legal news updates about litigation developments across the US and news about major transactions, hires and developments at the top US Law Firms. A useful source for news about the legal professions from Lexis. More » Less «
Coverage to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Portal featuring an extensive collection of links to free and fee-based (PACER) sources of court dockets for federal, state, and local courts. Other court documents (opinions, orders, etc) and criminal record databases are linked when available. More » Less «
(Updated daily)
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
An open access resource with guides to understanding State and Federal Law. Includes links to legislation, state and federal codes and Wex, the legal encyclopedia. More » Less «
Coverage to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Legal information and educational resources. More » Less «
Coverage to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
The LRB's mission is to serve the Wisconsin Legislature and the public by providing nonpartisan legal, research, and library services. More » Less «
Coverage Coverage varies to present (Updated daily)
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
Legal, news, reference, and business sources. Legal tab contains United States federal and state case law, codes, and regulations, as well as law reviews and legal news. Also includes foreign and international primary sources. More » Less «
Coverage Coverage varies to present (Updated daily)
 - Access: UW Law users Anywhere
Extensive collection of legal, news, reference, and business sources. Contains primary legal resources (cases, statutes, regulations, etc.) and secondary materials (journal articles, worldwide news, business sources, etc.).Non law school users may use LexisNexis Academic.For assistance with passwords, see the LexisNexis & Westlaw IDs form. To receive a password, you must be an authorized user and affiliated with the Law School. Incoming Law Students will receive their ID at orientation. If you are an incoming law student and do not receive an ID, please fill out the ID form. More » Less «
Coverage to present (Updated daily)
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Catalog of books, journals, and other materials owned by the UW-Madison Libraries. Includes free and licensed electronic resources. More » Less «
Access: Anyone Anywhere
This guide presents resources and strategies to assist students with citation checking, emphasizing sources that provide pdf images of documents wherever possible. More » Less «
Access: Anyone Anywhere
This guide serves as a basic catalog to the Lincoln Collection available at the UW Law Library. More » Less «
Coverage to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Comprehensive listing of agencies in Dane County which offer low cost legal assistance programs. More » Less «
Coverage to present (Updated daily)
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Catalog of books, journals, and other materials owned by Marquette University. Includes free and licensed resources. More » Less «
Coverage to present (Updated daily)
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Simultaneously search muliptle government publication databases, including Fdsys, the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications, and the Library of Congress with a single search. More » Less «
Coverage to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
List of law library microforms by title. More » Less «
Coverage 1961 to present
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
Provides an index and some full-text journals and pamphlets containing current news pertaining to all branches of the military. More » Less «
Coverage to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
MLRC serves the legal information needs of judges, attorneys, and the general public by providing reference and research assistance, training, and forms sales and distribution. More » Less «
Coverage 2001 to present (Updated daily)
 - Access: UW Law users Anywhere
The National Law Journal provides timely legal information of national importance to attorneys including Federal Circuit Court decisions, verdicts, articles about critical legal issues, coverage of legislative issues, and legal news from the business and private sectors. More » Less «
Coverage 2005 to 2015
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
This database version of Rich Leiter's National Survey of State Laws provides an overall view of some of the most sought-after and controversial legal topics in the United States. Users are able to make basic state-by-state comparisons of current state laws. The new 7th edition, along with the 6th and 5th editions, are included in database format, which also allows users to compare the same laws as they existed in 2005, 2008 and 2015. All print editions are included in Hein Online's image-based, fully searchable, user-friendly platform. More » Less «
Coverage to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Guide to resources at the University of Wisconsin Libraries and online. More » Less «
Coverage to Coverage varies (Updated daily)
 - Access: Anyone in Wisconsin
Articles from national, international, and Wisconsin newspapers, plus other news sources and news wires. The New York Times, Christian Science Monitor, and Wisconsin State Journal, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel and Wisconsin Law Journal are all included. More » Less «
Coverage to present (Updated quarterly)
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
Contains the complete contents of the 20-volume Second Edition of the Oxford English Dictionary. More » Less «
Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
Oxford Handbooks Online provides access to the full text of more than 160 titles published as part of the prestigious Oxford Handbooks series, plus specially commissioned keywords and abstracts. They are cataloged by title in our library catalog and also can be searched here as one database. Seven individual subject modules are available - Business & Management, Economics & Finance, History, Law, Linguistics, Literature, and Religion. NOT ALL HANDBOOKS ARE LICENSED. More » Less «
Coverage to present
 - Access: UW Law users Anywhere
Legal titles within Oxford Reference Online include The Oxford Companion to American Law, The Oxford Companion to the High Court of Australia, A Dictionary of Law, A Dictionary of Law Enforcement, The New Oxford Companion to Law, The Oxford Companion to the Supreme Court of the United States, and The Oxford Guide to United States Supreme Court Decisions More » Less «
Coverage 1955 to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
A multimedia archive devoted to the Supreme Court of the United States, providing the audio of oral arguments from cases before the Supreme Court. More » Less «
Coverage 2003 to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Free access to United States Supreme Court briefs since the 2004/05 term. Briefs are arranged by date and case name. Also includes the publication Preview of the United States Supreme Court Cases for the 2007/08 term through the 2014-2015 term. More » Less «
Coverage 1973 to present
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
United States Supreme Court briefs since the 1973/74 term. Cases can be searched by docket number, case name, decided date, term, or Preview subject. Also includes the publication Preview of the United States Supreme Court Cases for the 1973/1974 term through the present. More » Less «
Coverage 1789 to 2015 (Updated daily)
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
Index and many full text publications of the United States Congress since 1789. Includes acts (laws), bills and resolutions, committee reports and documents, conference committee reports, hearings testimony, selective legislative histories, the Congressional Record (bound & daily editions), the Serial Set, Executive Branch Documents, and more. More » Less «
Coverage 1849 to 1990 (Updated daily)
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
The Chicago Tribune and Chicago Daily Tribune in PDF format since its beginning year. More recent years are available through ProQuest Newspapers. More » Less «
Coverage 1881 to 1990 (Updated daily)
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
The Los Angeles Times in PDF format since its beginning year. More recent years are available through ProQuest Newspapers. More » Less «
Coverage 1851 to 2004 (Updated daily)
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
The New York Times in PDF format since its beginning year. More recent years are available through ProQuest Newspapers. More » Less «
Coverage 1841 to 1962 (Updated daily)
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
Full-text, fully-searchable, coverage of the New York Tribune, and its merged successor newspaper the New York Herald Tribune More » Less «
Coverage 1889 to 1996 (Updated daily)
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
Full text, fully searchable, of all issues of the Wall Street Journal for 1889-1995. More » Less «
Coverage 1789 to 2015 (Updated daily)
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
A complete collection of full text publications generated in the course of congressional lawmaking useful for compiling a federal legislative history. PDFs include the public law, all bill versions, floor debate from the Congressional Record, committee reports, conference committee reports, hearings, and prints. Also included are Presidential signing statements, CRS reports, and other miscellaneous congressional publications. Note that only enacted laws are included. For bills which were not enacted, see ProQuest Congressional. More » Less «
Coverage 1971 to 2016
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
As a companion to ProQuest Legislative Insight, Regulatory Insight offers U.S. federal administrative law histories organized by federal statute and Executive Order, as well as Federal Register and Code of Federal Regulations content. Also includes a research tool to facilitate regulatory research organized by Federal Agency. More » Less «
Coverage 1930s to present
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
See: Data-Planet Statistical Insights More » Less «
Coverage 1950s to present
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
Index to and selected full-text U.S. statistical data. Includes contents of the American Statistics Index (ASI), Statistical Reference Index (SRI), and Index to International Statistics (IIS). More » Less «
Coverage 2004 to 2015
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
Includes full opinions from Supreme Court argued cases, including per decision, dockets, oral arguments, joint appendices and amicus briefs. Content associated with each case is compiled on a dynamic page organized to facilitate understanding of the judicial process, and is also retrievable on a document by document basis. More » Less «
Coverage 1790s to present (Updated daily)
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
U.S. federal and state cases, statutes, regulations, court rules, constitutions and legal forms. More » Less «
Access: Anyone Anywhere
Ravel Law is a free way for anybody to search Federal Case Law and quickly read and review the opinion. Prominent cases have abstracts from Wikipedia linked. Law users can sign up for a free account to access case analytics and citation history. More » Less «
Coverage to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
This guide lists the locations of many of the UW Law Library's most heavily used materials. More » Less «
Coverage to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
This guide lists the locations of many of the UW Law Library's most heavily used materials. More » Less «
Coverage 1990s to present (Updated daily)
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
New and forthcoming scholarship in a number of disciplines, including law (as part of the Legal Scholarship Network division of SSRN).Users may follow new faculty and staff scholarship by subscribing to SSRN's UW Law School Legal Studies Research Paper Series. More » Less «
Access: Anyone Anywhere
This guide highlights a variety of secondary sources which are extremely useful in legal research. Many of these titles, authored by well known legal scholars, are considered the definitive, go-to resource in an area of the law. Prosser on Torts, Collier on Bankruptcy and Corbin on Contracts are just a few examples in this legal classic genre. More » Less «
Coverage Middle Ages to present
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
Primary publications from the Selden Society, including its annual series containing law reports dating back to the Middle Ages, and year books from the Ames Foundation. More » Less «
Coverage to Present (Updated monthly)
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
New books, videos, and government documents received by the UW Law Library each month, arranged by legal subject.Customized email delivery is also available through our Selected Recent Acquisitions Email Service. More » Less «
Coverage 1789 to 2016 (Updated daily)
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
Reports and documents either produced or ordered by Congress, as well as presidential communications and treaty materials. Contains comprehensive and often detailed information on an extremely wide range of subjects. Includes the American State Papers, a collection of legislative and executive documents preceding the Serial Set. Also includes color and high resolution maps contained in the Serial Set. More » Less «
Coverage 1700s to present
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
This Library contains exact replications of the official bound session laws of all 50 states since inception, as well as Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands. It also includes the D.C. Register and the Session Laws of the U.S. Federal Government, as well as the entire back file of the Acts of Parliament of Canada and Acts of Parliament of Australia. More » Less «
Coverage to 1700s
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
This Hein Online collection brings together all known legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. More than a thousand pamphlets and books on slavery from the 19th century are also included as well as modern histories of slavery. Word searchable access to all Congressional debates from the Continental Congress to 1880 is included as well as general keyword, document type and topic searches. More » Less «
Coverage 1500s to present
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
A collection of works, scholarly articles and tools for legal research, including AALL GD-SIS State Bibliographies, AALL Publication Series, Legal Dictionaries, Serials, Cataloging Publications, Bibliographies, Bibliography of Early American Law, Legal Research Guide Series, Memorials of Law Librarians and more. More » Less «
Coverage 1791 to present
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
State Attorney General Reports & Opinions for all fifty states as well as Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. Also includes the Official Opinions of the Attorneys General of the United States and the Opinions of the Office of Legal Counsel of the United States Department of Justice. More » Less «
Coverage 1853 to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Biennial almanac of Wisconsin government. More » Less «
Access: Anyone Anywhere
Directory of government web sites including State of Wisconsin agencies, courts and legislature. Also includes links to federal, local, Native American sites. More » Less «
Coverage to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Official state employee directory includes phone numbers and email addresses. More » Less «
Coverage to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Comprehensive list of study guides and aids available on Circulation Reserve organized by subject. All the items are kept behind the circulation desk on the fifth floor of the law school library. More » Less «
Coverage 1979 to present (Updated quarterly)
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
Index to articles, books, government documents, loose-leaf services, court opinions and Internet sites that compare state laws on hundreds of subjects. More » Less «
(Updated daily)
 - Access: UW Law users Anywhere
Supreme Court Brief is a daily update on current issues and cases facing the US Supreme Court. News about updated arguments, petitions, rulings and more are covered, as well as articles about related events that pertain to the Supreme Court. Law School users can sign up for e-alerts by clicking on Sign In. After signing in with your LexisNexis Advance password, click on My Account. More » Less «
Coverage 1791 to 2015
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
The Supreme Court Database contains over two hundred pieces of information about each case decided by the Court between the 1791 and 2014 terms. Examples include the identity of the court whose decision the Supreme Court reviewed, the parties to the suit, the legal provisions considered in the case, and the votes of the Justices. Users can compare cases, courts and years using a wide range of data fields and export or download their findings. More » Less «
Coverage to present (Updated daily)
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
This official Supreme Court site offers documents from the current term such as bench and slip opinions, dockets, calendar, and rules. More » Less «
Coverage 1900 to 1926
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Index to works relevant to legal theory and history printed in the United States and the United Kingdom during the early twentieth century. More » Less «
Coverage 1870 to present
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
Official opinions of the U.S. Attorney General. Includes both the "Official Opinions of the Attorneys General of the United States" as well as, the "Opinions of the Office of Legal Counsel of the United States Department of Justice." More » Less «
Coverage 1970s to 1998 (Updated daily)
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Selected full-text hearings and committee prints from the U.S. Congress. More » Less «
Coverage 1789 to present
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
This collection features the complete Congressional Record Bound version, as well as the daily version back to 1980. It also includes the three predecessor titles: Annals of Congress (1789-1824), Register of Debates (1824-1837) Congressional Globe (1833-1873), and Congressional Hearings (1927-present), as well as other important congressional material. Using the Daily-to-Bound Locator Tool, you can quickly find a page in the Bound volume from the Daily edition. More » Less «
Coverage to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Clearinghouse of information from and about the Judicial Branch of the U.S. Government. Contains background information about the court, rules, publications, links to federal appellate and district court web sites, and links to federal appellate case law. More » Less «
Coverage 1919 to present
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
Contains the body of reported judicial opinions that are published by each agency. Notable titles include Decisions of the National Labor Relations Board (1934-Current); Federal Communications Commission Record (1986-Current); and Internal Revenue Cumulative Bulletin (1919-Current). More » Less «
Coverage 1789 to present
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
Selected federal legislative histories published by the U.S. GPO and private publishers. Also includes the index, "Sources of Compiled Legislative Histories." More » Less «
Coverage to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Guide to resources at the University of Wisconsin Law Library and online. More » Less «
Coverage 1997 to present (Updated weekly)
 - Access: UW Law users Anywhere
Full-text articles, cases, and other supporting legal documents covering significant cases and key legislative / regulatory developments.Customized email delivery is also available to UW Law School Faculty and Academic Staff through BNA Online Email Highlights. More » Less «
Coverage 1897 to present
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
Includes Message and Papers of the Presidents, Public Papers of the President, Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, and more. More » Less «
Coverage 1754 to 2004
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Includes the full text of all US Supreme Court Cases from 1754 to 2004. Text is fully browsable and downloadable. More » Less «
Coverage 1951 to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
The United States Statutes at Large contains both public and private laws published in numerical order. More » Less «
Coverage 1789 to present
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
Complete coverage of the Statutes at Large, containing both public and private laws published in numerical order, and treaties to 1950. More » Less «
Coverage to coverage varies (Updated daily)
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Collection of primary materials by and about the US Supreme Court. Includes decisions since 1893 and orders, briefs, rules, court dockets and calendar since the October 1999 term. More » Less «
Coverage to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
The guide contains biographical and jurisprudential information about each current US Supreme Court justice as well as materials about the Court as a whole. More » Less «
Coverage 1776 to present
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
Complete coverage of the supreme court opinions. Includes books, treatise and periodicals on the federal court. More » Less «
Coverage Coverage varies to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
This search service from the United Nations Statistics Division of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs offers access to statistics and datasets from the UN system. More » Less «
Coverage to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
The U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state, and local government information, as well as Native American Tribal government information. More » Less «
Coverage 1990s to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
New and forthcoming law school faculty and staff scholarship. Part of the Social Science Research Network (SSRN), More » Less «
Coverage 1946 to present (Updated daily)
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
The official site of the United Nations contains news and information about the UN and its bodies. The site is also the official portal to the UN Documentation system More » Less «
Coverage 1979 to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
From the UN's Dag Hammarskjold Library. Comprehensive official index to UN Documents and publications for 1979 forward, and earlier for selected major documents. Includes full text of UN resolutions, voting records, and agendas, plus speech citations for the main UN organs. More » Less «
Coverage 1946 to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
An overview of the various types of documents and publications issued by the UN (e.g., reports, resolutions, meeting records, sales publications, press releases) and gives guidance on how to use them. More » Less «
Coverage 1949 to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Portal for simultaneous keyword searching across multiple types of UN publications, including International Law Commission documents (e.g. yearbooks), Proceedings of Diplomatic conferences, Summaries of ICJ judgments, Reports of International Arbitral Awards, Repertory of Practice of UN Organs, and the UN Juridical Yearbook. More » Less «
Coverage 1946 to present (Updated daily)
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
All types of official United Nations documentation, beginning in 1993. ODS also provides access to the resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council from 1946 onwards. More » Less «
Coverage 1920 to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
United Nations bilateral and multilateral treaties in full text as published in the United Nations Treaty Series (UNTS). Contains some multilateral treaties not yet appearing in UNTS. Also includes the League of Nations Treaty Series. Treaties available in their authentic language(s), along with a translation into English and French, as appropriate. More » Less «
Coverage 1886 to present
 - Access: UW Law users Anywhere
Full-text federal, state, and Native American tribal court opinions. Coverage varies according to resource.Law school students, faculty and staff may request a VersusLaw ID. More » Less «
Coverage to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Feature films, TV dramas, and documentaries available at the Law Library More » Less «
Coverage 1880 to present (Updated daily)
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
A continuously-updated database of official documents, legislation, news releases and social media updates (Twitter, Facebook, YouTube) from U.S. Federal Government offices, officials and elected representatives. More » Less «
Access: Anyone Anywhere
Subject Guide on UW and free legal resources about water law. More » Less «
Coverage to present (Updated daily)
 - Access: UW Law users Anywhere
Extensive collection of full-text legal, news, reference, and business sources. Contains primary legal resources (cases, statutes, regulations, etc.) and secondary materials (journal articles, worldwide news, business sources, etc.). For assistance with passwords, see the LexisNexis & Westlaw IDs form. To receive a password, you must be an authorized user and affiliated with the Law School. Incoming Law Students will receive their ID at orientation. More » Less «
Coverage to present (Updated daily)
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
A collaboratively-created, public-access law dictionary and encyclopedia. More » Less «
Coverage 2004 to present (Updated daily)
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Blog offering legal research and Internet news & information with an emphasis on Wisconsin. More » Less «
Coverage 1969 to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Acts passed by the Wisconsin Legislature since 1969. A table of statutes sections affected by Wisconsin acts since 1995 and Governor's Veto Messages are also available. More » Less «
Coverage 1996 to present (Updated biweekly)
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Agency rules appearing in the Administrative Code (current) and notices in the Administrative Register (since 1996). Beginning in April 2001 with Admin Register No. 542, superceded Admin Code chapters are also available allowing the user to reconstruct the Code as it existed on a specific date. More » Less «
Coverage 1982 to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Opinions of the Attorney General beginning with volume 71. More » Less «
Coverage to present (Updated weekly)
 - Access: UW Law users Anywhere
See: Books Unbound More » Less «
Coverage 1995 to present (Updated daily)
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Wisconsin bills, acts, and resolutions, including bill histories and amendments. More » Less «
Coverage 1992 to 2009
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Briefs for Wisconsin Supreme Court and Court of Appeals published and unpublished cases from 173 Wis.2d (November 1992) through 317 Wis.2d (approx. July 2009). See Wisconsin Court System Case Search for more recent cases. More » Less «
Coverage 1858 to 1957
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Index to the UW Law Library's collection of briefs from Wisconsin Supreme Court and Court of Appeals cases appearing in the Wisconsin Reports from 9 Wis. to 275 Wis. More » Less «
Coverage 1989 to present (Updated daily)
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Wisconsin Supreme Court, Court of Appeals, Tax Appeals, and WERC opinions and decisions. More » Less «
Coverage 1991 to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Proposed changes to agency rules reviewed by the Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse. More » Less «
Coverage to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Information on law-related Wisconsin county agencies, legal assistance organizations, legal forms and guides, and county ordinances and court rules. More » Less «
Coverage 1995 to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Official Wisconsin Courts site contains a variety of court documents, as well as general information about the court system and the current court term. Includes Wisconsin Supreme Court and Court of Appeals opinions from 1995-present and Wisconsin Supreme Court oral arguments from September 1997-present. More » Less «
Coverage Coverage varies to present (Updated daily)
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Civil and criminal case information and status reports from Wisconsin circuit courts (CCAP), as well as from the Court of Appeals & Supreme Court (WSCCA). Case information includes case summaries, parties, and dockets (recorded events). More » Less «
Coverage 2000 to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Collection of state publications in PDF format from about 2000 to the present. The documents made available through the Wisconsin Document Depository Program. More » Less «
Coverage to present (Updated daily)
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Statewide public affairs broadcasting network. Includes Internet video of Wisconsin legislative sessions and meetings and Supreme Court oral arguments. More » Less «
Coverage Coverage varies to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
A listing of online and print legal research resources available to attorneys In Wisconsin. More » Less «
Coverage 1999/2000 to 2011/2012
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Written materials, letters, and memoranda given to or created by the legislative drafting attorney in the process of drafting a bill, resolution, or subsequent amendments. May provide some insight into the meaning of statutory language. More » Less «
Coverage 1890s to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Digital archive of municipal records from Wisconsin's towns, villages, cities and counties submitted to the Office of the Secretary of State. Records include incorporation papers, annexations, corporate boundaries, maps and litigation correspondence. More » Less «
Coverage to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Official State directory of agency and departmental web sites. More » Less «
Coverage to present (Updated daily)
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Catalogs of the State Law Library, the Dane County Law Library, and the Milwaukee Legal Resource Center. Links to state, federal, and other legal resources on the Internet. More » Less «
Coverage 1989 to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Wisconsin Statutes from the Legislative Reference Bureau. Statutes are updated with the integration of acts from the current legislative session. More » Less «
Coverage to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Full-text of the Wisconsin Constitution, including pending constitutional amendments. Full-text of the U.S. Constitution. More » Less «
Coverage 1700s to 1900s
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
Trial transcripts from some of history's most famous trials. Also includes texts that analyze and debate famous trials, as well as biographies of some of the greatest trial lawyers in history. More » Less «
Coverage to present
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
Catalog of millions of books, journals, and other materials owned by libraries around the world, including UW-Madison and the Library of Congress. More » Less «
Access: Anyone Anywhere
Guide to iPad Apps for Legal Professionals More » Less «

Log in to edit