Sort
Access Type
Anyone Anywhere
UW Madison users Anywhere
Anyone in Wisconsin
UW Law users Anywhere
Anyone in Law Library
Subject Type
Administrative Law
Bankruptcy
Business Organizations & Corporations
Children & Family Law
Civil Procedure
Communications Law
Constitutional Law
Contracts
Criminal Law & Procedure
Education Law
Environmental Law
Estate Planning
Federal Government Law
Foreign, International & Comparative Law
General
Health & Medicine
Human Rights
Immigration Law
Intellectual Property
Judicial Systems, Courts & Judges
Jurisprudence & Legal History
Labor & Employment
Land Use & Urban Development
Law & Economics
Law, Politics & Society
Lawyering & the Practice of Law
Legal Research
Legislation
Local Government Law
Native Peoples
Property
Taxation
Trial & Trial Practice
Databases and Electronic Resources

LegislationBack To Top
Coverage 1774 to 1875
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Historical U.S. Congressional documents and debates, including the Congressional Record and its predecessors. More » Less «
Coverage 1787 to present
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
Congress and the Courts, featuring William H. Manz's Congress and the Courts: A Legislative History, brings together materials reflecting congressional concern with the composition and structure of Article III Courts and provides all relevant documents prepared by various Congresses relating to the purpose, formation, organization, and restructuring of the federal government. More » Less «
Coverage 1973 to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Congress.gov contains federal legislative information from the United States government. It is the new platform for legislation, the Congressional Record, committee reports, nominations, treaties, Senate and House Executive Communications and member profiles. More » Less «
Coverage 1993 to present (Updated daily)
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Full-text of U.S. Congressional bills and resolutions. More » Less «
Coverage 1991 to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Browse the current catalog of Congressional Committee Prints. More » Less «
Coverage 1985 to present (Updated daily)
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Selected hearings from U.S. Congressional committee hearings proceedings. Most hearings are published two months to two years after they are held. For older hearings, see ProQuest Congressional. More » Less «
Coverage 1824 to 2017 (Updated daily)
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
Published and unpublished hearings from U.S. Congressional committee hearings proceedings. All hearings contain the full transcripts of the proceedings, including all oral statements, committee questions, and discussion. Published hearings also contain texts of related reports, statistical analyses, correspondence, exhibits, and articles presented by witnesses or inserted into the record by committee members and staff. For more recent hearings, see FDsys. More » Less «
Coverage 1989 to present (Updated daily)
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
The official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. Note that this is the daily edition - See Fdsys for bound edition citations. More » Less «
Coverage 1789 to 2017 (Updated daily)
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
The official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress back to 1789. Includes both daily and bound editions of the Congressional Record, as well as its predecessor titles: the Congressional Globe, the Register of Debates, and the Annals of Congress. More » Less «
Coverage 1998 to present (Updated daily)
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
The official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. Note that this is the bound edition - Congressional Record citations may be to the daily edition. The primary ways in which the bound edition differs from the daily edition are continuous pagination; somewhat edited, revised, and rearranged text; and the dropping of the prefixes H, S, and E before page numbers. More » Less «
Coverage 1994 to present (Updated daily)
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
The official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. Note that this is the daily edition - Congressional Record citations may be to the bound edition. More » Less «
Coverage 1916 to 2017
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
CRS Reports are designed to give nonpartisian research and analysis to members of Congress and other Congressional Staff. The CRS reports cover a wide range of topics and play a crucial role in providing information to lawmakers. Reports are fully searchable and downloadable. More » Less «
Coverage 1789 to 1932
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
Collection of publications from the Executive Branch of the federal government listed in the 1909 Checklist created by the U.S. Superintendant of Documents as a summary of all publications issues by the government since 1789. Includes fully-searchable access to 200,000-plus documents not included in U.S. Serial Set collection, as well as an additional 200,000 document chosen from the 1910-1932 period. More » Less «
Coverage to 1970
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
The Federal Judicial Center (FJC) offers a wide realm of useful data ranging from FJC reports and publications (including those on the various rules of procedure) to an integrated database of federal cases filed since 1970. More » Less «
Coverage to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
A guide to researching the legislative history of federal laws. More » Less «
Coverage to present (Updated daily)
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
GovTrack allows researchers to more easily create legislative histories by tracking bills of interest. More » Less «
Coverage 1932 to 1997
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
The J. Willard Hurst Collection details the career of the man commonly identified as the father of modern American legal history. Hurst was a professor at the University of Wisconsin Law School, where he developed the field of American legal economic history through his scholarship and teaching. The collection includes Hurst's personal outlines and notes; course texts; publications; publication reviews; research notes; correspondence (incoming and outgoing); personnel records; photographs; audio recordings; and typewriter. More » Less «
Coverage 1700s to present
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
Case law, legislation, regulations and other materials from the U.S. (federal, states, military, Native American), Canada, UK and other foreign countries. Coverage is especially good for older materials, although some newer content is available including California Records and Briefs. More » Less «
Coverage 1789 to present (Updated daily)
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
Index and many full text publications of the United States Congress since 1789. Includes acts (laws), bills and resolutions, committee reports and documents, conference committee reports, hearings testimony, selective legislative histories, the Congressional Record (bound & daily editions), the Serial Set, Executive Branch Documents, and more. More » Less «
Coverage 1789 to 2017 (Updated daily)
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
A complete collection of full text publications generated in the course of congressional lawmaking useful for compiling a federal legislative history. PDFs include the public law, all bill versions, floor debate from the Congressional Record, committee reports, conference committee reports, hearings, and prints. Also included are Presidential signing statements, CRS reports, and other miscellaneous congressional publications. Note that only enacted laws are included. For bills which were not enacted, see ProQuest Congressional. More » Less «
Coverage 1946 to 2017
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
As a companion to ProQuest Legislative Insight, Regulatory Insight offers U.S. federal administrative law histories organized by federal statute and Executive Order, as well as Federal Register and Code of Federal Regulations content. Also includes a research tool to facilitate regulatory research organized by Federal Agency. More » Less «
Coverage 1789 to 2017 (Updated daily)
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
Reports and documents either produced or ordered by Congress, as well as presidential communications and treaty materials. Contains comprehensive and often detailed information on an extremely wide range of subjects. Includes the American State Papers, a collection of legislative and executive documents preceding the Serial Set. Also includes color and high resolution maps contained in the Serial Set. More » Less «
Coverage 1700s to present
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
This Library contains exact replications of the official bound session laws of all 50 states since inception, as well as Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands. It also includes the D.C. Register and the Session Laws of the U.S. Federal Government, as well as the entire back file of the Acts of Parliament of Canada and Acts of Parliament of Australia. More » Less «
Coverage to 1700s
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
This Hein Online collection brings together all known legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. More than a thousand pamphlets and books on slavery from the 19th century are also included as well as modern histories of slavery. Word searchable access to all Congressional debates from the Continental Congress to 1880 is included as well as general keyword, document type and topic searches. More » Less «
Coverage to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Links to web sites of state legislatures and legislators with access to bills, constitutions, and issue reports. More » Less «
Coverage to present
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
Fact sheets summarizing European Union legislation divided into 32 subject areas which are the Activities of the European Union. Includes summaries of existing measures, as well as a follow-up of legislative proposals in policies as diverse as External Relations and Employment and Social Affairs. More » Less «
Coverage to present (Updated daily)
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Generated from the most recent official version made available by the U.S. House of Representatives. Includes an update service. More » Less «
Coverage 1994 to present (Updated annually)
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Published every six years, with an annual supplement. More » Less «
Coverage 1925 to present (Updated annually)
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
Full text of the United States Code from the 1925-1926 edition through the present. With annual supplements. More » Less «
Coverage 1925 to 1988
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Full text of the United States Code from the 1925-26 edition through 1988. The text is browsable and downloadable. More » Less «
Coverage 1970s to 1998 (Updated daily)
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Selected full-text hearings and committee prints from the U.S. Congress. More » Less «
Coverage 1789 to present
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
This collection features the complete Congressional Record Bound version, as well as the daily version back to 1980. It also includes the three predecessor titles: Annals of Congress (1789-1824), Register of Debates (1824-1837) Congressional Globe (1833-1873), and Congressional Hearings (1927-present), as well as other important congressional material. Using the Daily-to-Bound Locator Tool, you can quickly find a page in the Bound volume from the Daily edition. More » Less «
Coverage 1951 to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
The United States Statutes at Large contains both public and private laws published in numerical order. More » Less «
Coverage 1789 to present
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
Complete coverage of the Statutes at Large, containing both public and private laws published in numerical order, and treaties to 1950. More » Less «
Coverage 1880 to present (Updated daily)
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
A continuously-updated database of official documents, legislation, news releases and social media updates (Twitter, Facebook, YouTube) from U.S. Federal Government offices, officials and elected representatives. More » Less «
Coverage to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
A guide to researching the legislative history of Wisconsin laws. More » Less «
Coverage to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Case law, legislation, treaties, law reform reports, law journals, and other materials from foreign countries, the United States, and the 50 states. More » Less «

Log in to edit