Sort
Access Type
Anyone Anywhere
UW Madison users Anywhere
Anyone in Wisconsin
UW Law users Anywhere
Anyone in Law Library
Subject Type
Administrative Law
Bankruptcy
Business Organizations & Corporations
Children & Family Law
Civil Procedure
Communications Law
Constitutional Law
Contracts
Criminal Law & Procedure
Education Law
Environmental Law
Estate Planning
Federal Government Law
Foreign, International & Comparative Law
General
Health & Medicine
Human Rights
Immigration Law
Intellectual Property
Judicial Systems, Courts & Judges
Jurisprudence & Legal History
Labor & Employment
Land Use & Urban Development
Law & Economics
Law, Politics & Society
Lawyering & the Practice of Law
Legal Research
Legislation
Local Government Law
Native Peoples
Property
Taxation
Trial & Trial Practice
Databases and Electronic Resources

Jurisprudence & Legal HistoryBack To Top
Coverage 1800 to 1900
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
Combination of indexes to nineteenth century journals and government publications. Includes Jones and Chipman's Index to Legal Periodical Literature (1786-1922), as well as other indexes to presidential papers, patents, & government publications. An English parliamentary history and index to debates is also included. More » Less «
Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
A compilation of information about primary source materials in manuscript and special collections in the United States. Offers detailed subject indexing of finding aids and contact information for repositories. More » Less «
Coverage Pre-18th Century to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Digital documents relative to the fields of law, history, economics, politics, diplomacy, and government. Links to supporting documents referred to in the body of the texts. More » Less «
Coverage 1984 to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
The Bhopal Digital Archive collects thousands of court documents, newspaper clippings, secondary sources, videos, and more, all focused on the Bhopal chemical disaster that ocurred in December 1984. The content is entirely full-text searchable, and can be freely downloaded (except for the newspaper clippings, which can be viewed at the Law School). Content will continue to be added as the Law School receives it. More » Less «
Coverage 1600s to 1860
 - Access: Anyone in Law Library
Abstracts of American legal literature published in this country or abroad, from its beginnings to the end of 1860. It also includes works on foreign, comparative and international law published in America. CD-ROM database available on Law Library computers 1,2, and 4. More » Less «
Coverage 1789 to 2015
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
A full text collection of all versions of all US Bills (public and private) and Resolutions since 1789. Each document is in PDF format and completely searchable. All documents include the Congress Number, Bill Number, Version Date and Version Action. Bill Profile composite reports include sponsor information, publication citations and links to all versions of the bill. For additional information on Congressional Lawmaking, see Proquest Congressional or Proquest Legislative Insight. More » Less «
Coverage 1774 to 1875
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Historical U.S. Congressional documents and debates, including the Congressional Record and its predecessors. More » Less «
Coverage 1629 to 1855
 - Access: Anyone in Law Library
A collection of major treaties between Native Americans and the American colonies, and later the United States. Keyword search or browse by date, region (state or tribe), and title. CD-ROM database available on Law Library computers 1,2, and 4. More » Less «
Coverage to 18th Century
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
A collection of primary and secondary sources related to the formation and ratification of the U.S. Constitution and the Bill of Rights. Includes the Constitution and precedents, the Federalist Papers, James Madison's notes of the Constitutional Convention, the papers of George Washington, state constitutions and charters, ratification debates, and more. More » Less «
Coverage 1894 to 1897
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
Contains the entire Federal Cases 30 book series (1894-1897) which contains more than 20,000 cases. Also included is the Trinity Series, which includes American Decisions, American Reports, and American State Reports. More » Less «
Coverage 1700 to 1800
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
Significant English-language and foreign-language titles printed in the United Kingdom and in the British colonies during the eighteenth century. See "law" subject. More » Less «
Coverage to present
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Guide to resources at the University of Wisconsin Law Library and online. More » Less «
Coverage 1789 to present
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
This library features the complete print series Supreme Court of the U.S. Hearings and Reports on Successful and Unsuccessful Nominations of Supreme Court Justices by the Senate Judiciary Committee. Browse by Justice option allows you to see relevant works related to that Justice including links to articles and a bibliography of other works, along with links to Scholarly Articles. More » Less «
Coverage 1688 to 2004
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
Papers issued by the Great Britain House of Commons including bills; reports; accounts and papers; command papers; and supplementary material back to 1688. More » Less «
Coverage 1932 to 1997
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
The J. Willard Hurst Collection details the career of the man commonly identified as the father of modern American legal history. Hurst was a professor at the University of Wisconsin Law School, where he developed the field of American legal economic history through his scholarship and teaching. The collection includes Hurst's personal outlines and notes; course texts; publications; publication reviews; research notes; correspondence (incoming and outgoing); personnel records; photographs; audio recordings; and typewriter. More » Less «
Coverage 1700s to present
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
Case law, legislation, regulations and other materials from the U.S. (federal, states, military, Native American), Canada, UK and other foreign countries. Coverage is especially good for older materials, although some newer content is available including California Records and Briefs. More » Less «
Coverage 1836 to 1861
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Original documents from Lincoln's law practice, including facts about cases and non-litigation activities handled by Lincoln and his law partners. More » Less «
Coverage 1500s to 1900s
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
Thousands of full text works from important legal scholars of the 16th- to early 20- centuries. More » Less «
Coverage 1800 to 1926
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
Over 22,000 legal treatises from the 19th- and early 20th- century. Covers all aspects of American and British law and encompasses a range of analytical, theoretical and practical literature for research in American and British legal history. More » Less «
Coverage 1832 to 1978
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
Records and briefs brought before the U.S. Supreme Court in over 150,000 cases between 1832 and 1978. The collection does not include the Court's rulings, opinions or decisions, but focuses on the legal documents and records presented to the Court. More » Less «
Coverage 1800 to 1900
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Indexes works relevant to legal theory and history printed in the United States and the United Kingdom during the nineteenth century. More » Less «
Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
Encyclopedia of legal history from ancient to modern times. Articles explore the traditions of Ancient Greek Law, Ancient Roman Law, Medieval Roman Law, Chinese Law, English Common Law, Islamic Law, United States Law, and the laws of such other regions as Africa, Latin America, and South Asia. More » Less «
Coverage 1849 to 1990 (Updated daily)
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
The Chicago Tribune and Chicago Daily Tribune in PDF format since its beginning year. More recent years are available through ProQuest Newspapers. More » Less «
Coverage 1881 to 1990 (Updated daily)
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
The Los Angeles Times in PDF format since its beginning year. More recent years are available through ProQuest Newspapers. More » Less «
Coverage 1851 to 2004 (Updated daily)
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
The New York Times in PDF format since its beginning year. More recent years are available through ProQuest Newspapers. More » Less «
Coverage 1841 to 1962 (Updated daily)
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
Full-text, fully-searchable, coverage of the New York Tribune, and its merged successor newspaper the New York Herald Tribune More » Less «
Coverage 1889 to 1996 (Updated daily)
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
Full text, fully searchable, of all issues of the Wall Street Journal for 1889-1995. More » Less «
Coverage 1400s to present
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
Books, periodicals, and bibliographies on the development, history, organization, and fundamental principles of various world religions. Also includes Christian Legal Society publications, an assortment of Canon Law, and rare historical bibles. More » Less «
Coverage 1936 to present
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
Official publications from the Stair Society including the Stair Society Main (Annual) Series and Supplementary Series. More » Less «
Coverage 1509 to 1782
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
English government documents originating from the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries. This collection contains information on every facet of English government, including social and economic affairs, law and order, religious policy, crown possessions and intelligence gathering as well as Britain's international relations and foreign policy. Includes parts I, II, III and IV of the series. More » Less «
Coverage to present
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
State Reports: A Historical Archive provides a digital version of Hein' More » Less «
Coverage 1717 to present
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
Includes more than 1,600 volumes and nearly 2,000,000 pages of historical superseded state statutes and offers a valuable source of information for legal researchers and scholars to understand the thinking and conditions of the creation of the historical statutes. Access superseded State Statutes for all fifty states. Each state is verified against Pimsleur More » Less «
Access: Anyone Anywhere
The State of Wisconsin Collection brings together, in digital form, two categories of primary and secondary materials: writings about the State of Wisconsin and unique or valuable materials that relate to its history and ongoing development. More » Less «
Coverage 1235 to 1713
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
A fully searchable collection of the UK Statute of the Realms from 1235-1713. More » Less «
Coverage 1900 to 1926
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Index to works relevant to legal theory and history printed in the United States and the United Kingdom during the early twentieth century. More » Less «
Coverage 1754 to 2004
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Includes the full text of all US Supreme Court Cases from 1754 to 2004. Text is fully browsable and downloadable. More » Less «
Coverage 1832 to 1978
 - Access: UW Madison users Anywhere
See: Making of Modern Law: US Supreme Court Records and Briefs 1832-1978 More » Less «
Coverage 1852 to 1914
 - Access: Anyone Anywhere
Annual and biennial reports of all important Wisconsin state agencies from 1852 through 1914. Also includes reports of various state officers, departments and institutions. WPD is a source for Wisconsin statistical tables, financial charts, vintage photographs, supplementary documents, maps, other graphics and research monographs on specific topics. More » Less «

Log in to edit